Local voter numbers don’t guarantee win for Dems

Local voter numbers don't guarantee win for Dems by David Lias Residents of Clay County may have grown to expect that Democrats are practically assured success here.

After all, local residents typically have chosen Democrats to represent them in Pierre. Two years ago, local Democrats helped send a Vermillion home-town boy, Democratic Rep. Tim Johnson, to the U. S. Senate.

Democrats also fare well in Clay County Commission races. Presently, the five-member commission is made up of only one Republican.

Even though barns throughout the county are dotted with signs supporting Yankton Democrat Bernie Hunhoff's bid for governor, however, there's no guarantee that a Democrat running for any race in Clay County will be successful.

There are 8,514 registered voters in the county, and Democrats outnumber Republicans by only a slim margin.

There are 3,630 Democrats, 3,379 Republicans, and 1,489 Independents registered to vote in Tuesday's general election. There are also 15 citizens registered as Libertarians, and only one who is pegged in a category simply called "other."

The county has 1,095 inactive voters — citizens who haven't voted in the last four years. Of the inactive voters, Democrats, again, hold only a slim advantage. There are 462 inactive Democrats, 406 inactive Republicans, and 227 inactive Independents.

Polls open at 8 a.m.

The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 3, in all the voting precincts in Clay County.

The election polls will open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on the day of the election.

The polling place in each precinct of Clay County is as follows:

Glenwood/Riverside Township: Experimental Farm, 29970 University Road.

Star/Bethel Townships: Senior Citizens Center/Wakonda.

Pleasant Valley/Garfield Townships: Dalesburg Lutheran Church, 30595 University Road.

Prairie Center/Spirit Mound Townships: 4-H Center/Fairgrounds, 515 High St., Vermillion.

Meckling/Norway Townships: Township Hall/Meckling.

Vermillion/Fairview Townships: 4-H Center/Fairgrounds, 515 High St., Vermillion.

Irene Town: Community Center, Irene.

Wakonda Town: Senior Citizen Center, Wakonda.

Vermillion City: All Precincts: National Guard Armory, Princeton St., Vermillion.

Voters with disabilities may contact the County Auditor's Office for information and special assistance in polling place accessibility.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>