Vermillion tennis team places 11th at state tourney

Vermillion tennis team places 11th at state tourney The Vermillion High School girls tennis team ended its 1998 season with an 11th place finish at the state tournament in Sioux Falls Oct. 8-10. There were 23 teams competing for the state title which was won by Sioux Falls Lincoln. All schools fielding tennis teams in the state compete in one division. Competing for the Tanagers in singles were Tracey Walworth in Flight 1, Anna Ristic in Flight 2, Katie Talley in Flight 3, Lindsay Iverson in Flight 4, Vanessa Noonan in Flight 5 and Laura Doohen in Flight 6. In doubles Walworth/Ristic competed in Flight 1, Talley/Iverson in Flight 2 and Noonan/Doohen in Flight 3.

Winning preliminary or first round matches were Walworth, Ristic, Talley, and Doohen in singles and Walworth/Ristic, Talley/Iverson, and Noonan/Doohen in doubles. Walworth, seeded 8th in her flight, lost 6-0, 6-3 in the quarter finals to the eventual state champion, Maggie Donahue of Sioux Falls O'Gorman. Also losing in the quarter finals was Anna Ristic, the 8th seed in Flight 2. She lost 6-2, 6-0 to Sioux Falls Lincoln's Kate Chiu, the eventual Flight 2 winner. "Both girls played very well against the best tennis players in the state. The scores don't reflect many close games," said Coach Barb Rickord.

Lindsay Iverson, a first year varsity player, won the Flight 4 consolation title. "Lindsay had to play smart and steady tennis to defeat her opponent from Watertown in the finals, and she did it well. It was the best I've ever seen her play all season," said Rickord.

The 11th place finish is an improvement over the 1997 12th place finish. "We met our goal of doing better at the state tournament than last year. I was very pleased with how all of the girls played," said Rickord.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>