USD Theatre to feature classic ghost story

USD Theatre to feature classic ghost story Audiences will be chilled by a tale of ghosts and possession when USD Theatre presents The Innocents by William Archibald, Nov. 18-21 at 8 p.m. and Nov. 22 at 2 p.m. in Theatre I of the Warren M. Lee Center for the Fine Arts.

The Innocents is based upon Henry James' novella The Turn of the Screw.

The action centers around Miss Giddens, a young governess who arrives at an English estate to oversee two precocious orphans � Miles and Flora.

Miss Giddens is played by Jessica Nadrchal, Omaha, NE, with Mitch Hess, Watertown, and Cassie Walters, Vale, assuming the roles of the youngsters. There is also Mrs. Grose, the family cook who is played by Melissa Vatter-Miller, Vermillion.

But these four are not alone � they are haunted by fears and phantoms, the ghastly shadows of the former caretaker and maid played by Ryan Parker Knox, Pierre, and Elizabeth Egan, Vermillion. Although the governess and cook are terrified by the spirits, the children welcome their visitations, paving the way for a rivoting final scene.

The production team for The Innocents includes graduate student Sue Klemp, Rolling Meadows, IL, as director, with fellow students Royce Miller, Sioux Falls, and Heidi Schiemer, Winter Park, FL, as scenic and costume designers, respectively.

This production also features the creative efforts of two guest artists, Ed Stauffer, Lincoln, NE, and Terry Ross, Sioux Falls, for the lighting and sound designs.

Tickets for The Innocents are $8 for adults, $6 for senior citizens and youth, and $1 for USD students with ID.

Special group rates are available as well.

Reservations can be made by calling the USD Theatre box office at (605)677-5400 beginning on Monday, Nov. 9. Box office hours are 1 to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 1 to 5 p.m. on weekends.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>