Coyotes claim 16 events at Hillenbrand track & field meet

Coyotes claim 16 events at Hillenbrand track & field meet South Dakota was the top team at the third annual Bill Hillenbrand Track and Field Invitational held last Friday and Saturday.

The Coyote men and women combined for 16 first-place efforts. USD competes at the Iowa State Invitational this Saturday.

Winning for the USD women were: Stephanie Knight, 400 (57.31); Tonya Kneifl, long jump (18-7 3/4); Molly Wedel, one mile (5:08.24); Michelle Munsen, 55 (7.29); Sara Deckert, 200 (25.98); Brandi Echternach, weight throw (51-8); 4×800 relay, 9:40.36 (Trisha Lundin, Patricia Goertz, Marni Johnson, Krista Trei); 4×400 relay, 4:00.57 (Cori Verbeski, Deckert, Munsen, Knight). Echternach's weight throw broke her own meet record.

Winning for the Coyote men: Tom Green, 55 (6.36) and 200 (22.39); Manuel Williams, long jump (23-8 1/4); Jesse Haines, pentathlon (3477); Will Hardin, triple jump (48-8 3/4); 4×800 relay, 7:53.59 (Craig Miller, Joel Solomonson, Jacob Christensen, Jeremy Kyte); distance medley relay, 10:29.84 (Andy Nelson, Eric Van Laecken, Chad Feeldy, Mike Gade); 4×400 relay, 3:22.32 (Matt Eckert, John Kehoe, Williams, Andrew Negebauer).

Green's 55 time broke the meet record of 6.46 set by Chris Butler of Morningside last year.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>