Experiment farm plans annual meeting

Experiment farm plans annual meeting The Annual Winter Meeting for the Southeast South Dakota Experiment Farm Corporation will be held Tuesday, Jan. 26, at the Southeast Experiment Farm, Beresford, beginning at 1 p.m.

Crop and livestock research highlights for 1998 will be presented as well as an overview of ag marketing strategies. Bradley Rops, Southeast Farm research assistant, will present information about raising swine in a hoop building constructed this year, as well as using high oil corn for swine finishing rations. Brad Johnson, SDSU Extension feedlot and ruminant nutrition specialist, will discuss using high oil corn in finishing rations for yearling steers and plans to determine its feasibility in calf-fed finishing rations. Robert Berg, Southeast Farm manager, will highlight crop-related research conducted at Beresford, including the use of speciality crops and precision farming technology. Gene Hamaker from Farmer's Trading Company at Mitchell, will explain how producers can use various marketing tools to help manage risk in agricultural enterprises.

The afternoon program is as follows:

1 p.m. Welcome � Chairman John Fahlberg; Business meeting � Secretary's Report, John Gille; Treasurer's Report, Dean Knutson

1:15 p.m. Introductions

1:20 p.m. Livestock Report � Swine: Brad Rops, Southeast Farm

1:45 p.m. Livestock Report � Beef: Brad Johnson, SDSU

2:15 p.m. Crop Report � Dr. Robert Berg, Southeast Farm

2:45 p.m. Ag Marketing Strategies � Gene Hamaker, Farmers Trading Company.

3:15 p.m. Break

3:30 p.m. County Meetings

Elections will be held for the following director positions during the county meetings: Robert B. Hansen, Yankton County; Wayne Larson, Minnehaha County; Neil Hoogestraat, Turner County; Frank Orr, Clay County; Kirk Jensen, Lincoln County; David Ulrickson, Lincoln County; and Ron Johnson, Union County.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>