Track teams capture NCC crowns

Track teams capture NCC crowns The South Dakota mens and womens track and field teams captured 1999 North Central Conference indoor championships Feb. 27 in the DakotaDome.

It marked the third straight indoor league crowns for the Coyote men and women. In addition, the USD women have won five consecutive conference titles which includes the last two NCC outdoor meets.

The mens and womens divisions were both two-team races between South Dakota and North Dakota State. The USD women tallied 171 points compared to runner-up North Dakota State with 157. Nebraska-Omaha was a distant third with 91 points.

On the men's side, the Coyotes beat the Bison, 181-171. St. Cloud State was far back with 52.

South Dakota crowned nine event winners. Depth was a big factor for the Coyotes, who had 12 second-place finishes and 18 third-place marks.

The Coyotes had a pair of double winners.

Tonya Kneifl swept the high jump (5-7 1/2) and long jump (18-10 1/4). Andrew Neugebauer won the 800 in 1:53.89, and he anchored the winning 4×800 relay (7:54.68) that clinched the NCC crown.

Kneifl and Neugebauer were

joined in the winner's circle by: Manuel Williams, long jump (23-5 1/2); Tina Fenske, one mile (4:57.02); Michelle Munsen, 55 (7.11); Tom Green, 55 (6.34); and Patricia Goertz, 800 (2:17.82). Fenske, who set a conference and DakotaDome record with her mile clocking, was third in the 3,000 (10:11.70).

Williams added a second in the 200 (21.91) and Green was third in the 200 (21.99).

Headlining USD's runner-up efforts was Dean Gillen, who turned in strong performances in the weight throw (54-2) and shot put (51-10). Feeldy, who ran on the 4×800 relay, placed second in the mile (4:09.92).

Stephanie Knight posted a second-place finish in the 400 (56.02) and she was third in the 200 (25.11). Krista Trei came away with two seconds with times of 1:15.54 in the 500 and 2:59.99 in the 1,000. Mike Gade placed second in the 3,000 (8:44.66) and third in the mile (4:13.38).

Molly Wedel notched a second in the 3,000 (10:11.06) and she was third in the mile (4:58.71).

The Coyotes had three other second-place finishes: Stacie Janish, pole vault (10-7 1/2); womens 4×400 relay (3:52.88); and the mens 4×400 relay (3:18.16).

Third-place marks for the Coyotes: Jesse Haines, pentathlon (3,677); Amber Oolman, pentathlon (3,342); Brandy Echternach, shot put (45-11); John Kehoe, 400 (49.63); Cori Verbeski, 500 (1:16.83); Matt Eckert, 500 (1:04.55); Darren Smith, 55 (6.43); Will Hardin, triple jump (47-4 1/4); Ryan O'Malley, high jump (6-4); Chad Rohde, high jump (6-4); Mark Nelson, 3,000 (8:45.12); Michelle Mellegaard, triple jump (38-7 1/2); womens 4×800 relay (9:40.68).

USD's fourth-place marks: Garrett Schramm, pole vault (15-3); Echternach, weight throw (52-1); Josh Hofer, 55 hurdles (7.74); Craig Miller, 500 (1:05.90); Williams, 55 (6.49); Rohde, triple jump (47-3 1/4); Alison Wolley, 800 (2:19.63); Jeremy Kyte, 800 (1:55.66); Trisha Lundin, 1,000 (3:01.90); Joel Solomonson, 1,000 (2:31.66); Sandy Pelkofer, pole vault (10-2); Munsen, 200 (25.12).

Coyotes placing fifth: Oolman, 55 hurdles (8.44); Sara Deckert, 200 (25.13); Noah Randles, 5,000 (15:26.75). Sixth went to: Jesse Haines, long jump (22-8); Hardin, high jump (6-4); Jacob Christensen, 1,000 (2:34.48); Sara Thomsen, pole vault (9-2).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>