Wolf Pack team earns third place

Wolf Pack team earns third place The Vermillion Wolf Pack captured third place at the Edgar's Basketball Tournament in Elk Point on March 19-20.

The tournament field consisted of eight teams in the sixth-grade division from southeastern South Dakota and northwestern Iowa.

In the battle for third place, the Wolf Pack started quickly by working the ball inside against Harrisburg and taking an early 11-4 lead. Harrisburg made a strong comeback before the Wolf Pack broke the press at the end of the game to pull away with a 31-18 victory.

Earlier Saturday, Elk Point-Jefferson ended the Wolf Pack's hopes for a championship with a 44-26 win. EPJ's balanced offensive attack proved to be too much as the Wolf Pack could not stop them defensively.

Vermillion won their opening round game Friday night with a close, intense 26-23 win over Alcester-Hudson. The game was close the entire time as both teams struggled to get on track offensively. The Wolf Pack, however came up with key baskets to provide them a first round win.

The team is coached by Jason Weber and Jamie Stolp. Team members are Jordan Anderson, Chris Teigen, Chris Moen, Ben Oberle, Matt Preszler, Jason Donald, Steve Foltz, Chad Teigen, Kyle Mollett and Brad Schaack. They will conclude their season with two tournaments in Sioux Falls.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>