Area bowlers earn scholarships

Area bowlers earn scholarships Sixty-one area youth bowlers converged on Vermillion March 6 to take part in the first Midwest Youth Bowling Challenge, a scholarship bowling tournament held at the Prairie Lanes. Up for grabs at the event was $2,000 in scholarship money that was donated by local and area businesses and funded from bowler entry fees.

Mike Kruse, one of the tournament organizers was very pleased with the turnout of bowlers and plans to expand the tournament next year to accommodate more bowlers.

"We had bowlers from 15 towns and three states here this year, we would like to double the entries next year and continue to grow in following years," Kruse said.

Kristine Annis was the only Vermillion bowler to place in the tournament with a fifth place finish in the handicap division.

Other Vermillion youth bowlers in the tournament were Mike Kruse, Ryan Annis, Tyler Annis, Megan Kruse, Ryan Nelson, Laura Burcham, James Burcham and Jared Burcham.

Scholarship winners in the tournament were:

Handicap Division

First, Jason Doring, Spencer, IA; second, D.J. Walsh, Dakota City, NE; third, Phil Oviatt, Spencer, IA; fourth, Matthew Slattery, Spencer, IA; fifth, Kristine Annis, Vermillion; sixth, Nick Weisenbach, Lennox; seventh, Justin Burma, Lennox and eighth, Jason Lene, Lennox.

Scratch Division

First, Aaron Bonnes; Sioux City, IA; Brian Hosner, Watertown; third, Emily Stout, Pierre; fourth, Melissa Hackstrom, Sergeant Bluff, IA; fifth, Karla Engh, Sioux Falls and sixth, Don Anderson, Watertown.

Individuals receiving special awards were: High scratch game (non qualifier) Heather Urban, Sioux Falls and Jon Meidter, Le Mars, IA. high handicap game (non qualifier) Ben Tapper, Sioux City, IA and Ann Kapelle, Madison.

All scholarship money earned at the Midwest Youth Bowling Tournament Challenge is held in an account at the Junior Bowling National League until the time the youth enters college or it can be used to attend bowling camps to better their bowling skills.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>