Clay RWS elects officers

Clay RWS elects officers The Clay Rural Water System held its 20th annual meeting March 23 at the water system office, rural Wakonda.

Members heard reports from officers and staff and reviewed the system's financial and operating statistics for 1998. Updates were given on several construction projects currently underway. The membership also approved two revisions to the corporation's bylaws.

The results of the recent district elections were announced. Elections were held March 5 in each of the system's three districts to elect one member from each district to the board of directors.

Glenn Nelson of Meckling was elected in District I, Ron Hesla of Wakonda was elected in District II and Dave Heeren of Akron was elected in District III. Nelson and Heeren were both elected for their first terms while Hesla was elected for his second term.

Two outgoing directors, Todd Christensen of Vermillion and Darold Vaderham of Akron, were recognized for their years of service. Both served nine years.

Following the annual meeting the board re-organized and elected officers for the coming year. Ken Frick of Beresford was elected president, Leon Fenhaus of Wakonda was elected vice-president and Joe Hubert of Vermillion, secretary-treasurer.

Clay Rural Water is a member-owned, non-profit water system that provides water service to 1,480 locations in Clay, Union and portions of Yankton, Turner and Lincoln counties.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>