Clubs Country Gals

The Country Gals 4-H club met at the 4-H Center on April 12, 1999 at 7 p.m. Flag pledges were led by Stacey Joy. Roll call was answered by our favorite movie. We sold $1,255 worth of 4-H fruit. There was a reminder that Come Create is on Saturday. Then we watched a video on demonstrations, illustrated talks, public speaking and project whys from the 1998 county performances.

We did the following judgings: Michelle Rydell, "Skirts"; Colette Joy, "Photography"; Angela Rydell, "Photography." Our hostess was Hannah Gerth. The next meeting will be May 10, 1999, at the 4-H Center.

Reporter: Leslie Larson

Clay County Democrats

The Clay County Democrats held their monthly meeting April 13. Business was conducted during a luncheon at the Prairie in Vermillion.

Guest speaker was Dr. Jim Green. He gave an update of the Newcastle-Vermillion bridge. It was reported bid lettings will be September 15, 1999.

Garrett Bruening, a Vermillion native, also gave a presentation. Garrett served as a page for Sen. Joe Reedy during the 1999 legislative session. He described the duties of a page.

Several Democrats attended Jefferson – Jackson Day in Watertown on April 17.

A fund-raising dinner is being planned. The dinner will be held May 22 at the Prairie. Along with the steak dinner, an auction is being held. Many fun and interesting items will be auctioned. Chairperson Judy Reedy Olsen of the State Democratic Party will join us for the dinner. She will inform us of all the new and exciting things happening in the state. Make plans now to attend this event.

Don't forget the next monthly meeting of the Clay County Democrats is scheduled for May 12 at noon at the Prairie. Come and help us put the final touches on the great fund raiser.

Eta Chapter � Delta Kappa Gamma Society

Eta Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International celebrated its 50th anniversary with Xi Chapter of Yankton, April 10 at the Coyote Student Center.

Thirty-six members were present for the breakfast. Past chapter presidents were introduced and presented a rose corsage. Those present were Dr. Marjorie Beaty, Florence Hoffman, Mary Geffre Johnson, Helen Manley, Brenda Martens, Eleanor Offerdahl and Doris Winters. Gerri Van Bruggen was unable to be in attendance.

Linda Wymar, chapter president, presented service awards to the following members: 50 years � Dr. Marjorie Beaty and Florence Hoffman; 45 years � Myrtle Knapp and Hazel Perkins; 25 years � Gerri Van Bruggen; 20 years � Brenda Martens and Donna Schaefer; 15 years � Lynn Milton and Jane Torkelson; 10 years � Linda Wymar; and five years � Sharon Hanson and Linda Reetz.

Judy Aiello was presented with the Eta Chapter Achievement Award.

Florence Hoffman, chairman of World Fellowship, held two drawings with Dr. Orla Christensen and Mary Johnson the recipients of the drawings.

Mary Johnson, Golden Gift chairman, sponsored a drawing with Diane Smidt, winning the Delta Kappa Gamma pin.

Brenda Martens, first vice state president, welcomed the members on behalf of Alpha Pi State. An invitation was extended to all members to attend the honorary membership for Carole Hillard, lieutenant governor on May 15 at the Ramkota Inn, Sioux Falls.

The next meeting will be a mystery bus trip on June 5, with members and guests invited.

Senior Citizens

On Wednesday April 14, 50 people enjoyed the afternoon card party at the Senior Citizens Center from 1 – 4:30 p.m. Nineteen played pitch, eight pinochle, two skip-bo and 21 bridge.

Bridge prize winners were: Luceal Liffengren, first; Monica Ballard, second; Sarah Brown, third; blind bogie, Stella Anker; and Irene Rabusch, low.

Refreshments at 3 p.m. were furnished by Leona Christopherson, Marge Rasmussen, Frances Mollet and Peggy Mollett.

Men and women are welcome, no reservation required.

Rebekah Lodge #28 and Odd Fellow Lodge #3

The Vermillion Rebekah Lodge #28 and Odd Fellow Lodge #3 held their annual Roll Call Tuesday evening at 7:30 p.m. The program opened with a welcome from Ellen Jacobson the Rebekah noble grand, and Dwight Baisden, the Odd Fellows noble grand. The introduction of visitors showed those present: Darrel Christopherson, deputy grand master; John Sealey, grand secretary; Col. Dick Youngkrantz, department commander; Lt. Col. Robert Munsil, deputy department commander; Lady Alice Munsil, vice president of department association; and Lady Agnes Sealey, department association secretary. There were seven members from Elk Point and one from Yankton as visitors. There were several visitors from Vermillion. There were 67 in attendance. The roll call of Odd Fellows, Rebekahs, Ladies Encampment Auxiliary, Encampment, and Ladies Auxiliary to Patriarchs Militant, Canton was called.

After the roll calls, a program was presented by John Jorgenson who was in Cameroon Africa in December. He showed slides and explained the work he did while he was there. He also had many pictures and articles he brought back to show. He gave a very good presentation and everyone enjoyed him. Afterwards Linda and John favored us with a song.

Three of our members received jewels for continuous service for 25 and 50 years. Ruth Iverson received a 50-year jewel and her daughter Carol pinned it on her. Mitchell Morse received his 25-year jewel and his sister pinned his jewel on him. Alan Morse received his 50-year jewel and John Sealey pinned his on. Afterwards Alan told of his experiences as an Odd Fellow. Fern Morse read a reading on the meaning of a jewel. John read a reading for Mitchell and Alan.

Katie Kribell, daughter of Janelle Kribell and granddaughter of Fern and Warren Morse, played some selections on the piano. She played her contest piece she will be playing this weekend.

We sang God Bless America to end our program. A delicious lunch was served following the program and everyone enjoyed talking to John and seeing his things he brought back from Africa.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>