South Dakota wins gold at 90th Drake Relays

South Dakota wins gold at 90th Drake Relays It was a banner Drake Relays for South Dakota track and field athletes when the 90th classic was held April 23-24 in Des Moines, IA.

The Coyotes captured two relay titles and USD had a number of top-five finishes.

On Friday seniors Chad Feeldy and Mike Gade joined forces with juniors Jeremy Kyte and Andrew Neugebauer to win the college division men's 4×800 relay with a clocking of 7:34.50. The time bettered the old USD school record of 7:35.11 set in 1988. Saturday, Feeldy, Gade and Neugebauer teamed with Matt Eckert to win the distance medley relay with a time of 9:54.09 which broke the old school standard of 9:59.50 set in 1980. South Dakota now has won three men's relays titles at Drake after the Coyotes won the initial 4×800 relay crown back in 1911. South Dakota's other previous Drake Relay winner on the men's side was Steve Gordon, who was a two-time triple jump champion. On the women's side, the Coyotes won the college sprint medley relay title two years ago and Linda Gdowski captured the invitational 400 in 1990.

South Dakota placed third in another relay. The 4×400 foursome of Ryan Finley, Tom Green, Manuel Williams and Eckert finished third in 3:12.82.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>