Clubs Ladies Golf and Bridge Association

A rainy day turned sunny inside the clubhouse at The Bluffs last Wednesday.

Over 60 ladies came out for the opening day activities of golf, lunch and cards.

Co-Presidents Helen Brown and June Wagner introduced guests Ethyl Krieger and Mary Ellen Jensen. New members Ellie Davis, Pat Berglund and Jackie Dunn were welcomed.

The officers, Marsha Brunning, vice-president, Lynn Halle, secretary and Ardyce Meisenholder, treasurer, were introduced. Jean Marshall is in charge of bridge, Leone Christopherson is in charge of pitch and Lorraine Brunick and Pat Olson captain of the kitchen.

The presidents entertained the ladies in song and rhyme and June presented Helen Brown a lovely necklace for her hole-in-one accomplishment. Merle Reed was the winner of the gift bottle of wine.

Thirteen ladies were dollar winners and Pat Berglund, Alice Wilson and Marsha Bruning each won a $5 drawing.

Kirk Hogen talked to the group about an upcoming fund-raiser on May 21 and encouraged listening to the local radio station for more information.

Kay Heikes and Eileen Turner will be in charge of next year's bridge round robin tournament.

June Wagner, Mary Clem and Lorraine Brunick served lunch.

Fran Mount brought the golf game, Card Flag, from Bemidji, MN, for 12 golfers to play. Capturing first prize with 54 went to the team of Ardyce Meisenholder, Barb Oakes, Ardyth Baer and JoAnn Beringer. With a score of 56, Phyllis Christol, Glennis Stewart, Helen Brown and Pat Berglund came in second.

Winning first place in bridge for the afternoon was Pat Olson, followed by Kay Heikes, Marti Weideman, Reidella Engman and Marsha Bruning.

Seven players played pitch with Dorothy Dahlman and Frances Mollett each winning twice and Virginia Jensen once.

We're off to a great beginning and hope you'll join us next week. New members are always welcome.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>