Local Lutheran Brotherhood Branch earns high rating

Local Lutheran Brotherhood Branch earns high rating Southeast South Dakota Branch 8603 has received Lutheran Brotherhood's Superior rating for its community service activities in 1998. The rating is the highest given by Lutheran Brotherhood and recognizes the local service group for its effectiveness in bringing Lutheran Brotherhood's fraternal (charitable, benevolent) resources into the local area.

Southeast South Dakota Branch 8603 received this award based primarily on the number and variety of volunteer service projects and fund-raising events it conducted to strengthen local communities. The branch also excelled in distributing Lutheran Brotherhood matching funds to Lutheran congregations.

Officers serving Southeast South Dakota Branch 8603 in 1999 are: Doreen Ronning, president, Alcester; Dwight Berglin, vice president, Vermillion; Charles Haugland, secretary, Alcester; Donald Schurdevin, treasurer, Elk Point; Gladys Mollet, publicity officer, Alcester; Sharon Akland, service officer, Beresford; Marge Sippel, education officer, Beresford; and Ken Bonte, RespectTeen officer, Beresford.

The Lutheran Brotherhood district representatives serving the branch as fraternal branch consultants are Douglas Verley and Kristopher Jerke.

Lutheran Brotherhood is an organization of more than one million Lutherans joined together for financial security, benevolent outreach and volunteer service. As a member-owned not-for-profit fraternal benefit society, Lutheran Brotherhood's mission is to improve the quality of life for its members, to strengthen communities, and to aid Lutheran congregations and institutions.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>