University names spring graduation candidates

University names spring graduation candidates Approximately 1,000 students were candidates for degrees at The University of South Dakota's 111th spring commencement exercises recently held in the DakotaDome.

Meredith Auld Brokaw, a 1962 graduate of The University of South Dakota, and James Abdnor, the former U.S. Senator from South Dakota, were honored at the spring commencement.

Brokaw, 58, of New York City, delivered the commencement address. During the ceremony, she received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree. Also during commencement, Abdnor of Ft. Myers, FL, received an honorary Doctor of Laws Degree.

USD President James W. Abbott and Regent Shane Penfield of Vermillion conferred the degrees. Mary Lynn Myers of Sioux Falls spoke on behalf of the USD Alumni Association.

Area students receiving degrees were:


Michael Mushtaq Ahmed, MA, Communication Disorders; Gerald Wayne Arnett, MA, Biochemistry & Molecular Bioliogy; Tracy AnaMaria Arobba, AS, Nursing;

David Samad Barari, BFA, Theatre, University Scholar; Aaron John Bjorkman, BSBA, Accounting, With Honors; Jennifer Sue Bliss, BFA, Theatre; Barbara Thoreson Brockevelt, MA, Anatomy & Structural Biology;

Christine M. Carnes, MA, Speech Communications; Howard Allen Carpenter, MD; D. Susan Cavanaugh, MD; Ekaterina V. Chistyakova, BA, Mass Communications; Andrew John Clark, BS, Anthropology, History; Naomi Ruth Gebhart Cromwell, JD;

Margaret Ann Evans, BSED, Elementary Education, Special Education; Craig Elliott Frank, BS, Computer Science; Roseanna Hatch Giles, BS, Dental Hygiene; Roseanna Hatch Giles, AS, Dental Hygiene;

Harlowe Aaron Hatle, BSR, Recreation; Tammy Lynn Hauger, BSBA, Management; Mary Lee Hochstein, BSMED; Ryan Charles Holoch, BSBA, Management; Christopher Marc Hovden, BSED, With High Honors; Mark Allen Iverson, BSED, History;

Allan R. Jones, EDD, Educational Administration; Karlette Rae Juhnke, BSED, Elementary Education, Special Education; Celina Marie Knippling, MPA, Professional Accountancy; Matthew Richard Knutson, BS, Biology; Amy Michelle Kolberg, MD;

Agnieszka Eva Okularczyk Leesch, BA, English, French; Joanne Mary Leonard-Wingo, BS, English; Arlo Jared Lorenz, BS, Psychology; Christal Mae Mackey, BSBA, Management; Vernon Ray McBride, BS, Mathematics; Jason Lynn Mc Donald, BSAH, Alcohol & Drug Abuse Studies;

Karla Ann Nygren, German; Cecilia Corrine Pagulayan, BS, Biology; Scott Alexander Perkins, BS, Anthropology; Beth Ann Williams Prasek, EDS, Educational Psychology & Counseling; Betty Taylor Red Leaf, EDD, Educational Administration; Matthew V. Rusch, JD, Sterling Honor Graduate;

Stephen G. Saiz, EDD, Educational Psychology & Counseling; Benjamin Eli Severson, BFA, Art; Thomas L. Sorensen, JD; Mitchell James Stewart, BS, Biology; Ryan D. Taylor, JD; Kim M. Thompson, BSED, Elementary Education;

Chadwick Town, MPA, Public Administration; Molly Anne Vagle, BA, English; Carlotta Elizabeth York, BSBA, Management; Aaron John Bjorkman, MPA, Professional Accountancy.


Thomas J. Culver, MA, Educational Administration; Melissa Ann Orr, BLS, Liberal Studies.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>