Clubs Sons of Norway Lodge

Lilehammer Lodge 1-633 met May 18 with Earl Reese presiding in absence of President Marvis Trondvold. Fifty-four members and five guests signed the registry. Guests were Nick and Ardis Saoi, Don and JoAnn Frosch and Jean Christensen. A Norwegian song Nidelvin was sung in memory of charter member Cliff Peterson who passed away recently.

A new Karaoke machine and speaker system is now in use.

Lodge business consisted of passing the updated by-laws presented at the previous meeting. Members voted to sponsor a float in the upcoming Riverboat Days Parade.

Dick Lowe presented life long memberships to Wilbur and Elizabeth Foss. A Founders Certificate has been awarded our lodge for membership achievement.

Norwegian folk dancing classes will be held every Monday evening, at 7 p.m. at the Territorial Capitol building in Yankton. Don and JoAnn Frosch are our dance instructors. They were awarded complimentary memberships for their leadership.

Lodge SON vests may be ordered through Clarice Holm.

It was announced that the Crown Prince of Norway, Prince Olaf Haakon, will be honored at a state luncheon on June 9 at 11:30 a.m. at the Sioux Falls Convention Center. Gov. Janklow will preside. Also, the Nordland Fest will be held at Augustana College June 18 – 20. A special Opdahl heritage luncheon will be on Saturday. Contact Earl Reese (606-665-9208) for further information.

Alvira Grinvold won the door prize given by Don Thompson. The lodge Heritage Dancers demonstrated their dancing techniques. A silent auction of donated items was a success. Lunch was served. Next meeting will be held on June 15.

Senior Citizens Center

The Monday May 24 card party had 11 pitch, 12 pinochle and 20 bridge players.

Bridge prizes went to: Shirley Riehle, high; Barb Kronaizl, second; Sarah Brown, third; Louise Scott, blind bogie and Eve Marshall, low.

Refreshments were furnished by Leona Kryger and Barb Kronaizl.

Door prizes went to Florence Wagner and drawings went to Garnette Perry, Lovella Matson, Lois Erickson, Folmer Christenson and Mary Maxwell.

The regular weekly Wednesday card party May 26 had 16 bridge, four pinochle, 14 pitch and three skip-bo players.

Bridge prizes were won by Barb Kronaizl and Ire Rabusch, who tied for first; Marlys Miller, third and Adeline Isaacson, low.

Refreshments were furnished by Donna Utley and Sig Nissen.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>