Hoyt receives Marshall Award

Hoyt receives Marshall Award South Dakota senior Matt Hoyt, Burlington, WY, has been selected as the 1999 recipient of the Stan Marshall Award. The North Central Conference award is given annually to one male and one female senior student-athlete who distinguish themselves through academic performance, athletic ability and community activities.

The award is named in memory of longtime South Dakota State athletic director Stan Marshall, who was a leader at the conference and national levels in intercollegiate athletics. The recipients of the Stan Marshall Award are selected from the NCC Honor Athletes who were announced last month. Each school had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the honor. This year marks the first time that there was a tie for the male honor with Hoyt sharing the award with St. Cloud State's Ryan Marx (wrestling). The female recipient was Nebraska-Omaha's Tara Buzzell (softball).

"My time at South Dakota has been very rewarding for academic and athletic reasons," said Hoyt. "I've been fortunate to have been coached by what I feel is one of the best coaching staff in the country. I've had the opportunity to run with great teammates and I will always cherish the memories of being a student-athlete at USD."

Hoyt, a biology major with a 3.71 grade point average, enjoyed a stellar career at South Dakota. Named to the 1998-99 GTE coSIDA Men's Spring At-Large National Academic All-America second-team, Hoyt was a standout track and cross-country athlete for the Coyotes. Hoyt, the recipient of USD's Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, was a five-time all-American and is the only athlete in school history to earn all-America honors in cross-country, indoor and outdoor track in the same calendar year.

Hoyt was voted the NCAA Region and National Cross-Country Athlete of the Year. A three-time academic all-American, Hoyt holds South Dakota records in the indoor 3,000, 5,000 and the outdoor 10,000. A two-time conference and region champion, Hoyt led the Coyotes to the 1997 national cross-country championship.

Hoyt is the fourth South Dakota athlete to receive the Stan Marshall Award and the first since Jean Misterek (woman's basketball) in 1987. Karrie Wallen (women's basketball) won the award in 1984 and Jerus Campbell (football) was USD's first winner in 1983.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>