UNL scholarship awarded to Meyers

UNL scholarship awarded to Meyers The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has awarded 553 Scholarships for New Nebraskans for the 1999-2000 academic year to students in 43 states and two overseas U.S. military bases.

Winners of New Nebraskan Scholarships include Molly Meyers of Vermillion.

The New Nebraskan Scholarship program was created in 1995 for the purpose of identifying and rewarding the most-talented students from states other than Nebraska who choose to attend UNL. The scholars recognized with New Nebraskan Scholarships join the Regents Scholars, David Scholars and others as beneficiaries on UNL's commitment to academic excellence and to enrolling top student scholars.

New freshmen recipients are awarded based on high school performance (rank in class) and admission test scores (ACT or SAT). New transfers are awarded based on a minimum number of hours transferred into UNL and transfer cumulative grade point average. Students apply for the scholarship by applying for admission. The scholarships are renewable.

There are three tiers (or levels) of New Nebraskan awarding. Tier I is valued at $1,200 per year, tier II at $2,400 per year, and tier III, which is equal to the full nonresident portion of tuition (approximately $4,200).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>