Hoy named McKusick Law Award recipient

Hoy named McKusick Law Award recipient Carleton R. "Tex" Hoy has recently been selected as the 1999 recipient of the Marshall M. McKusick Award by The University of South Dakota School of Law.

The award, named for former USD Law School Dean Marshall M. McKusick, has been presented annually to outstanding contributors in the legal profession since 1951. The McKusick Award also honors the recipient's contributions to the community and bench and bar in South Dakota.

Hoy, born in Sioux City, IA, grew up in Vermillion. He received his undergraduate degree in business administration from USD in 1950 and his law degree (LLB) from the School of Law in 1956. He served as law clerk to the U.S. District Judge until 1957.

In 1973, he began a year-long term as Special Assistant to the U.S. Attorney. Hoy has served as president of the South Dakota State Bar Association (1979-80) and as president of the International Society of Barristers (1988-89).

A legendary South Dakota trial lawyer and legal advocate, Hoy has dedicated nearly half a century to the law profession and remains in practice today. His integrity and character have become true assets to the legal system and merit deserving of the McKusick Award.

Marshall M. McKusick taught at the USD School of Law for 39 years as both professor and dean of the School of Law. During his tenure, Dean McKusick successfully campaigned for higher admissions standards and improvement of the law library. He also convinced the Board of Regents not to close the school during the end of World War II when the school's enrollment fell to two students.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>