ASVAB will be given at VHS

ASVAB will be given at VHS The Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) will be given at Vermillion High School on Tuesday, Sept. 28, beginning at 8:30 a.m. The ASVAB is provided at no cost to either the school or the student and is helpful in the following ways: the academic scores provide an indication of student's aptitude for future education and/or occupation; schools can use the ASVAB for career and curriculum planning; the ASVAB is required for entrance into the military and ROTC.

For more information concerning the ASVAB, please call Lea Gustad in the high school guidance office at 677-7035.

The University of South Dakota Department of Psychology and faculty member Dr. Elizabeth Todd-Bazemore were each honored with top awards at the 107th annual convention of the American Psychological Association (APA) held last month in Boston, MA.

The department received the APA Graduate Student (APAGS) organization's Department of the Year Award. On behalf of the department, Professor Gerard Jacobs, director of USD's Disaster Mental Health Institute, accepted this award on Aug. 22. In a separate ceremony the same day, Todd-Bazemore personally accepted the APA Division 45 (The Society for the Psychological Study of Ethnic Minority Issues) Career Achievement Award for her contributions to the profession.

"The fact that the Department of the Year Award was from the APA's organization of graduate students is extremely significant and gratifying to me," said Department of Psychology Chair Randal Quevillon. "A major part of our mission is to provide quality training and experiences for our students. Receiving this award means that a number of our departmental directions and priorities and the efforts we've made over the years in the area of graduate training are bringing us national recognition. Indeed, this award reflects that our reputation as a psychology department of excellence is being recognized at a national level."

The Department of the Year Award was initiated in 1998 by APAGS, the 51,700 member graduate student organization of the 155,000 member APA. The award recognizes one psychology department each year that exemplifies a superior level of assistance and attention to graduate student needs, a commitment to graduate student personal and professional development and excellence in faculty-student relationships.

The USD nomination letter for this award was a collaborative effort between Quevillon, Professor Barbara Yutrzenka, director of the Clinical Psychology Training Program, and two clinical psychology graduate students who also serve as local APAGS advocacy representatives, Jessica Kaster of Fargo, ND, and Anh Diep of Houston, TX.

"This collaborative effort between faculty and students is characteristic of the quality of faculty-student relationships recognized by the award,"' said Yutrzenka. "We were mutually convinced of our department's commitment to and excellence in graduate training. We are pleased that this was also recognized by APAGS and feel truly honored to have received this award."

The award brings national recognition, an engraved plaque and a $1,000 cash award. "We will use the award to begin a fund to support graduate student research and travel to professional conferences," said Quevillon. "We've wanted to be able to provide this support in the past but have had limited funds to do so. Now we have the opportunity to do this more effectively."

"The achievements of the department are the result of the excellent leadership of our chair and program directors, the quality of our faculty and graduate students, and the tremendous collaboration between administrators, faculty and students," said Jacobs. "This recognition is doubly significant in that the top leadership of the APA, including the chief executive officer and the president were in attendance and acknowledged the importance of this award for our department."

The department has two doctoral level graduate programs- Human Factors Psychology and Clinical Psychology, with a combined enrollment of over 50 graduate students.

"We are honored to have received this award. Our department and it's graduate programs have been recognized in the past for other accomplishments, but this is a real highlight because of the group that has given it and because of the national level of the award," said Quevillon. "The APA is the leading psychology organization in the country and the fact that this award comes from graduate students within this organization is particularly gratifying to me. It's a positive reflection on the department and the university."

For more information, contact: Barbara A. Yutrzenda, (605) 677-5353.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>