America’s Shrine to Music elects trustees

America's Shrine to Music elects trustees John Thomson of Vermillion, John R. Waltner of Freeman, Dan J. Kirby and Vance M. Thompson of Sioux Falls, and Joe and Joella Utley, Spartanburg, SC, have been elected to three-year terms on the Board of Trustees of America's Shrine to Music Museum on the campus of The University of South Dakota in Vermillion.

Kevin Schieffer of Sioux Falls was re-elected to another three-year term, as were Kay Andre, Walnut Creek, CA; Stella Anker and Barbara Yelverton, Vermillion; Martin P. Busch, Rapid City; Joseph M. McFadden, Houston, TX; Larry Ness and Marilyn Nyberg, Yankton; Stephen Radcliffe, Sioux City; and Marlowe Sigal, Boston.

Barnes and Usher Abell of Vermillion were elected trustees emeritus, in recognition of their many years of service to the museum.

The trustees, who provide leadership for the museum in partnership with The University of South Dakota, are responsible for funding all of the new acquisitions, as well as the expenses associated with permanent and temporary exhibitions, concerts and other public programming, scholarly publications and recordings, outreach services, and the museum's

extensive educational programs for area school children.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>