Cross country runners win Class B titles

Cross country runners win Class B titles Vermillion's Eric Dehner led the Tanagers to the Class B boys team championship at the South Sioux City, NE invitational Sept. 30.

His clocking of 16.37 placed him first in his division. All school teams ran at the same time, so his position among the larger school participants was fifth.

The Tanager team score was 130 for first place among nine teams in their class. Jordan Thompson (V) with a time of 17.27 also contributed to the winning total as did John Ring (17.35), Tyler Engstrom (18.09) and Darryl Neufeld (17.16).

In the girls varsity B division, Vermillion placed first with95 points led by Kathy Plate's best time (16:31) for this competition of seven teams. Tanager placers were Angie Rydell (16.59), Megan Griffith (17.01), Beth Pier (17.06), Natalie Tuetken (17.08) and Emily Pier (17.12).

No JV team scores were reported in Vermillion's class, but in the girls JV Carley Bernard (19.35) and Amritha Subramanian (19:54) were entered, and boys JV had Leland Smith (19.28), Josh Kyte (19.59) and James Clark (21.33) participated. Also, the 9th-10th division included Ben Parsons (19.14) and Wilber Lio (20.14) for the Tanagers.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>