Dice, Mayer named homecoming royalty

Dice, Mayer named homecoming royalty Jacqueline Dice of Mitchell and Matthew Mayer of Canistota were named the 86th Miss Dakota and the 13th Mr. Dakota, respectively, Oct. 8 at the Coyote Capers Variety Show which was part of The University of South Dakota's Dakota Days celebration. Dice and Mayer convened over the D-days parade and the football game on Saturday. In a voting process, students selected Dice and Mayer from among seven female and seven male student candidates for Ms. and Mr. Dakota.

Dice, the daughter of Tom and Charlys Dice of Mitchell, is president of Kappa Alpha Theta sorority. An English major, she is a member of USD Student Ambassadors, and the Newman Center. She served as Freshman Orientation team member, student representative for the Presidential Task Force on Student Success and vice president of judicial affairs for the Panhellenic Council.

Mayer, the son of Richard Mayer of Canistota and Jayne Mayer of Vermillion, is a business management major. A Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity founding father, he serves as a Dakotan member, Thursday Night Live Scholarship Program assistant, public/sorority relations chair, and a USD choir member. Mayer is also a member of Guidon Honor Society, Mortar Board, Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society, and Habitat for Humanity.

Other candidates for Ms. Dakota included: Chantel Baloun, the daughter of Richard and Carol Baloun of Highmore; Deirdre Buck, the daughter of Rudolph and Patricia Buck of Byron, MN; Jami Huber, daughter of Loren Huber and Amy Nolan-Emery of Emery; Erin Kent, the daughter of Jim and Mary Kent of Rapid City; Jaime Kuper, daughter of Dianne Kuper of Sioux Falls; and Erica Schipper, the daughter of Lloyd and Jeannette Schipper of Pierre.

Candidates for Mr. Dakota included: Gary DeVries, the son of Lowell and Elaine DeVries of Corsica; Mike "Vic" Milbrath, the son of Marless and Gary Milbrath of Worthington, MN; Trent Menning, the son of Larry Menning and Linda DenBesten of Chamberlain; Kyle Neuberger, son of Val and Kathy Neuberger of Watertown; Chris Rasmussen, the son of Ken and Marilyn Rasmussen of Pierre; and Justin Thurman, the son of Michael and Bonnie Thurman of Sioux Falls.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>