VHS National Honor Society elects officers

VHS National Honor Society elects officers The Vermillion High School National Honor Society held its first meeting of the 1999-2000 school year in September. Officers include Thomas Kolbeck, president, Michael Veitz, vice president, and Jordan Thompson, secretary.

The National Honor Society recognizes and encourages academic achievement as well as leadership, service and character. Some requirements are being a VHS senior or junior with a minimum GPA of 3.5, promoting and representing VHS activities, having positive attitudes and behaviors, holding school offices of responsibilities, demonstrating leadership, participating in outside activities, being a dependable volunteer, taking on difficult tasks and being respectful and obeying rules.

According to NHS advisor Sharon Ross, a panel of teachers, using a scoring procedure to assess each candidate's submitted information, determines those selected for membership. "It's a pleasure to work with students who have this level of talent and commitment," said Ross.

The NHS members are active with service projects throughout the year including fundraisers and blood drives held at VHS usually twice yearly. The NHS Tutoring service works yearlong at assisting students in fulfilling their class requirements. Peer tutoring is in its fifth year and is very successful.

The 40 NHS members include Kristine Annis, Brenda Banks, Mary Basom, Kelsey Collier-Wise, Erin Conlon, Patricia Crowley, Tyler Engstrom, Melissa Gale, Hannah Gehm, Nancy Heine, Sara Hoadley, Kimberlee Hoffman, Patrick Ireland, Cullen Iverson, Bridget Jacobs, Katrina Jacobs, Aaron Kauer, Thomas Kolbach, Allison Knutson, Vicky Lio, Timothy Margheim, Jennifer Merrigan, Courtney Nelsen, Seth Nesselhuf, Vanessa Noonan, Hilary Pederson, Kathy Plate, Greg Reinhart, John Ring, Melissa Rydell, Amy Schoellerman, Jonathan Spader, Jordan Thompson, Dustin Tomhave, Stephen Varns, Michael Veitz, Andrea Von Eye, Dariel Weaver, Mather Williams, and Tasha Zimmerman.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>