USD men 1st, women 6th at Stevens Point swim meet

USD men 1st, women 6th at Stevens Point swim meet The South Dakota men's swimming and diving team took first at the nine-team Wisconsin Stevens-Point Invitational that concluded last Saturday.

The Coyotes scored 938 points. The USD women finished sixth with 360 points. Overall, the USD men and women crowned five champions.

The Coyotes were led by Justin Devlin, who won the 200

breaststroke (2:10.77) and the 100 breaststroke (1:00.00). John Javorski was first in the 50 freestyle (21.88) and Tyler Hartl captured the 100 freestyle (48.91).

USD had a number of second-place performances. They were: 200 medley relay (1:37.49); Torey Melton, 200 butterfly (2:00.81); Matt Fox, three-meter diving (542.20); 400 medley relay (3:38.04); 400 freestyle relay (3:15.18); and 200 freestyle relay (1:28.57).

Shad Durham, who qualified for the national meet, took third in three-meter diving (526.05). Hartl added a third-place mark in the 200 IM (2:01.95) and he was also fourth in the 200 freestyle (1:49.55). David Nelson was third in the 200 breaststroke (2:15.16). David Molesworth earned a pair of fourth-place times in the 100 freestyle (49.45) and 100 backstroke (55.14). Zach Devine was fourth in the 100 breaststroke (1:00.83) and Greg Perzinski finished fourth in the 1,650 freestyle (17:08.07).


Sara Hamlet and Robyn Chrissinger sparked the Coyote women. Hamlet took top honors in the 1,650 freestyle (18:19.20), and Robyn Chrissinger was first in the 400 IM (4:44.82). Chrissinger was also second in the 500 freestyle (5:15.02) and she was third in the 200 breaststroke (2:29.52).

Hamlet was also third in the 500 freestyle (5:24.92), while Sara Pokela was fourth in the 100 backstroke (1:02.39), fourth in the 200 backstroke (2:14.71) and fifth in the 200 IM (2:17.36).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>