USD named Truman Scholar Honor Institution; Truman, Rhodes Scholars to return January 31

USD named Truman Scholar Honor Institution; Truman, Rhodes Scholars to return January 31 Due to the number of prestigious scholars it has produced, The University of South Dakota has been designated a Truman Scholar Honor Institution by the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation.

USD is one of only 12 institutions in the nation that has been so designated.

In celebration of this institutional recognition, a special ceremony will be held at USD on Monday, Jan. 31. USD has invited all seven USD Truman Scholars and USD Rhodes Scholars to participate in the festivities. In addition, Louis Blair, executive secretary of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation, will attend the ceremonies.

As part of the festivities, USD will host a public forum involving the Truman and Rhodes Scholars in Farber Hall at 4 p.m. on Jan. 31. The scholars will talk about their USD experiences on-campus as well as after they became Truman/Rhodes Scholars.

"We can attribute this recognition to the work of our students," said President James W. Abbott. "Historically, USD has been very successful in national scholarship competitions from Rhodes to Truman scholarships. We feel honored that many of the scholars will return to campus for this unique and very special event."

USD Truman Scholars include:

* Mindy Glover, BA, 1996, originally of Yankton.

* Brendan Johnson, BS 1998 formerly of Vermillion, now attending the University of Virginia School of Law.

* Dusty Johnson, BA 1999, formerly of Pierre now working in Washington, D.C.

* Jamison Rounds, BA 1993, JD 1997, formerly of Pierre now studying in the seminary at The Vatican.

* Leslie Medema, formerly of Sioux Falls, will graduate from USD this spring.

* Jeff Navin, BA 1997, formerly of Sioux Falls now living in Washington, D.C.

* Michael Jansen, BA 1986, originally of Sioux Falls.

Rounds and Jansen will not be able to return for the ceremony.

Five Rhodes Scholars will return to campus for the event. They include:

* Paul Van Buren, BA 1960, originally of Dell Rapids now living in Los Altos, CA.

* Steve Wilson, BA 1970, originally of Hot Springs now living in Roseville, MN.

* Steve Runholt, BA 1984, originally of Rapid City now living in Princeton, NJ.

* Mark Eisenbraun, BA 1976, originally of Wall now living in Houston, TX.

* Lance Bultena, BS 1985, originally of Lennox now living in Arlington, VA.

USD has 12 Rhodes Scholars, including seven living.

"This is a major honor for a college or university to be named a Truman Scholar Honor Institution," said Professor William Richardson, director of the Farber Center and Truman Scholar advisor. "Few institutions have enjoyed as much success as USD has had with its student nominee in Truman Scholarship competition. What I believe to be especially important is that these returning scholars, in talking about their accomplishments, will stress the importance of studying abroad."

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation, established in honor of the 33rd U.S. president, awards merit-based scholarships of $30,000 to college students who plan to pursue careers in public service, and who will attend graduate or professional school to help prepare for their careers. Truman scholars participate in leadership development programs and have special opportunities for internships and employment with the Federal government.

In 2000, the foundation is again expected to award up to 80 scholarships on the basis of merit to junior-level students at four-year colleges and universities. Students must have extensive records of public and community service, commit to a career in government or public service, and exhibit outstanding leadership potential and communication skills.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>