VHS Tanager’s Ruminations

VHS Tanager's Ruminations The 1999 Vermillion High School football team season-end awards involved 10 "three-letter" seniors, 16 "two-letter" juniors, and 23 first-year letter winners:

Most Valuable Player � Cullen Iverson; Most Improved � Jared Thedorff; Outstanding Offensive Back � Thad Roche; Outstanding Receiver � Jason Madsen and Cory Novak; Outstanding Lineman � Anthony Senne; Outstanding Defensive Back � Madsen; Outstanding Linebacker � Brandon Benzel; Outstanding Specialty Team Player � Adam Brooks; Co-Captains � Iverson and Novak.

Big Eight All-Conference selections: Novak, Iverson, Madsen, Senne, Wes Christensen and David Jensen.

Honorable mention selections were: Chris Nelson, Jared Thedorff, Landon Morse, Adam Koller, Chris Sinkie, Tim Russell, Brandon Benzel, Tyler Vacek, Thad Roche and Dave Hanson.

South Dakota Football Coaches Association All-State (Class 11A): Madsen (wide receiver), Jensen (center), Senne (defensive tackle) and Novak (defensive end); also Wes Christensen (offensive tackle) honorable mention, and Academic All-State Iverson.

Representing VHS in North-South All-Star Game next summer: Novak, Madsen and Christensen (alternate).

Selected for the "Elite 45" team (Argus Leader): Novak, Madsen and Senne (honorable mention). In the championship game, the Joe Robbie MVP award went to Jason Madsen who was also chosen the SDFBCA outstanding back (championship game), while Cory Novak was selected as the outstanding lineman in the championship game.

Of course, the ultimate award for the team was the Class 11A SDHSAA Trophy signifying VHS as the 1999 State Champion.

There is one more award for one of the graduating senior members of this past football team's season but it will not be announced until next May at the VHS annual awards day. In the next article I plan to cover this special award's origin and history.


Congratulations to the Gary Culver family (Kim and Kinzie) who has been joined by a new fullback/linebacker candidate � Brett Lynn, 9 lb., 11 oz., born Jan. 3, 2000!!

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>