USD men 2nd, women 5th at NCC swimming meet

USD men 2nd, women 5th at NCC swimming meet At the three-day North Central Conference swimming and diving championships that concluded last Saturday in Grand Forks, ND, the South Dakota men finished second (898) and the Coyote women were fifth (296).

North Dakota swept the men's (1080) and women's (1074) team titles.

The Coyote men crowned six champions. Matt Fox, who was named the NCC's Most Valuable Diver, won the three-meter event with 544.90 points and he was third on the one-meter (440.10). Shad Durham claimed the one-meter board with 475.45 points. USD coach Jessica Riccobono was selected the NCC Diving Coach of the Year.

David Molesworth won the 200 backstroke (1:54.22), and he teamed with Tyler Hartl, John Javorski and Luke Thomason for first in the 200 freestyle relay (1:24.96). Justin Devlin captured the 200 breaststroke (2:03.64) and he tied for first in the 100 breaststroke (57.56).

Second-place finishes for the Coyote men: Molesworth, 100 backstroke (53.07); Javorski, 50 freestyle (21.57); David Nelson, 200 breaststroke (2:05.69); 400 medley relay (3:30.07); 400 freestyle relay (3:13.30); 200 medley relay (1:35.37); 800 freestyle relay (7:07.99).

The USD women were led by Robyn Chrissinger and Sara Pokela. Chrissinger was fourth in the 1650 freestyle (18:12.29); fifth in the 500 freestyle (5:15.87) and seventh in the 200 breaststroke (2:29.88). Pokela placed fifth in the 100 backstroke (1:00.26); fifth in the 200 backstroke (2:10.31) and seventh in the 200 IM (2:11.82). Sara Hamlet was sixth in the 1650 freestyle (18:14.80). The Coyotes were also fourth in the 800 freestyle relay (8:04.86); fifth in the 400 medley relay (4:08.26) and sixth in the 400 freestyle relay (3:45.27).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>