Musicians participate in Junior Music Festival March 4 on USD campus

Musicians participate in Junior Music Festival March 4 on USD campus About 90 young musicians participated in the 36th annual Junior Music Festival March 4 at the Warren M. Lee Center for the Fine Arts on The University of South Dakota campus.

The event is sponsored by the Vermillion Music Club in conjunction with the National Federation of Music Clubs. Participants are young people, age 5-18, from the Vermillion area, including some from Yankton and Elk Point-Jefferson. The following teachers had students participating in this year's festival: Judy Aiello, Shar Dambowy, Karen Lipp, Beth Mitchell, Lori Obr, Lisa Swanson, John Thomson, Karen Wearne and Janis Yarbrough.

Each student performs two pieces of music from memory, one of which is a required selection and the other is a piece which the student and his/her teacher chooses. A rating for the performance, along with a written critique are given by the judge.

Judge for the string performers this year was Priscilla Hallberg, a new member of the music faculty at Morningside College in Sioux City public schools and the lead teacher in the Siouxland Community Music School. She is the co-associate concertmaster of the Sioux City Symphony and is a frequent performer and competition adjudicator.

Pianists were judged by Sandy DeSaix of Beresford, a graduate of the Augustana College School of Music. She teachers piano and organ in Beresford and Sioux Falls and is the organist at Calvary Episcopal Church in Sioux Falls.

Vocal judge was Mark Loder, a senior music performance major at USD, who is currently the choir director at Trinity Lutheran Church in Vermillion. Loder recently placed first in the state competition of collegiate auditions of the Metropolitan Opera Company.

Awards included:

Superior piano solos

Hilary Callahan, Carrie Christensen, Sarah Christopherson, Daniel Davies, Lindsey Davies, Daniel Day, Megan Deaver, Lisa Doohen, Chelsea Gauer, Crystal Gorden, Amanda Granaas, Maggie Green, Molly Green, Luke Heine, Jack Higgins, Zach Holoch, Amanda Jacobson, Laura Jacobson, Taylor Jensen, Tony Jensen, Colette Joy, Stacey Joy, Shelli Knutson, Tia Krier, Jenny Larson, Molly Larson, Raychel Lorenz, Samantha Mannes, Laura May, Matt May, Margaret Mueller, Deepti Naik, Molly O'Connor, Kate Pommersheim, Sarah Rasmussen, Annie Roche, Jon Rusch, Michelle Rydell, Annu Subramanian, Jade Van Kley, Emily Vandenhul, Olivia Vandenhul, Jenna Williams and David Yarbrough.

Excellent piano solos

Sarah Anderson, Nick Britten, Elizabeth Day, Sarah Day, Lauren Higgins, Erin Rasmussen, Michelle Rasmussen, Janani Rogothaman, Kristen Schwasinger, Tristen Upward, Sara Weaver and Molly Woodard.

Superior violin solos

Julie Auch, Jessica Cheng, Alexanderia Mannes, Samantha Mannes, Annie Roche, Sophie Stevens and Alexa Thomson.

Excellent violin solos

Nancy Abbott, Kate Ehresmann, Rhea Ehresmann, Xaviera Flores, Allen Schmitz, Katie Shubeck, Silpa Somepalli, Sadie Stevens and Jackie Wang.

Very good violin solo

Ragini Bhadula.

Superior viola solos

Myles Boone, Holly Ehresmann, Kyle Kooy and Hannah Lerseth.

Excellent viola solos

Sara Archambault and Jon Hoadley.

Superior violin or

viola concertos

Myles Boone, Sophie Stevens and Alexa Thomson.

Superior strings


Lyric Strings Orchestra.

Superior vocol solos

Stephanie Jones, Julia Matthys and Jennifer Mead.

Excellent vocal solos

Elena Grupp, Natalie Johnson, Whitney Karpen, Daniel Smith, Jessica Stultz and Rachel Trudeau.

In addition to receiving a rating and comments from the judge, participants can earn points every year based on the raitns the receive, and gold cups are then awarded to those earning the required number of points (15 points for a small cup, 30 points for a medium cup, and 45 points for a large cup). This year a total of 22 gold cups were awarded:

Small gold cups, piano solo Sarah Anderson, Elizabeth Day, Lisa Doohen, Molly Green, Zach Holoch, Tony Jensen, Raychel Lorenz, Annie Roche, Jenna Williams, Molly Woodard and David Yarbrough.

Medium gold cups,

piano solo

Megan Deaver and Deepti Naik.

Small gold cups, violin solo

Samantha Mannes and Alexa Thomson.

Medium gold cups,

violin solo

Xaviera Flores, Annie Roche and Sophie Stevens.

Small gold cup, viola solo

Myles Boone.

Medium gold cup, viola solo

Hannah Lerseth.

Small gold cup,

string orchestra

Nancy Abbott and Katie Shubeck.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>