USD students named to Phi Beta Kappa

USD students named to Phi Beta Kappa Eighteen University of South Dakota students were recently honored for scholarly excellence and character by induction into the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa scholastic honorary society at The University of South Dakota.

Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest academic honor society, bases its selection of students on scholastic excellence, character, and course variety. The majority of its members are seniors who carry a grade point average of at least 3.25 on a 4.0 scale. However juniors may also be chosen for membership but must maintain a 3.85 grade point average.

Inductee Jarrod Edelen of Vermillion shares a unique aspect of history with his grandmother and cousin. Edelen was inducted as a junior member-in-course of the Phi Beta Kappa Alpha chapter of South Dakota, sharing that honor with his grandmother, Dr. Marjorie Beatty of Vermillion, a USD professor emerita of mathematics and 1928 inductee. A cousin, Hunter Blanton, was also inducted into the Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at the University of North Carolina in 1999.

Vermillion students inducted included: Pamela J. Collins, daughter of Gerald and Edith Varns of Sioux Falls; Jarrod Arthur Edelen, son of Mary and Joe Edelen of Vermillion; Danielle Marie Kauer, daughter of John and Elaine Kauer of Vermillion; Michael Brian Wildermuth of Vermillion; Sarah E. Fletcher, daughter of Beth Alsgaard of Tabor and Rick Fletcher of Lubbock, TX and Elizabeth Simmons and Christopher Hoover of Vermillion.

The national scholastic honor society was founded in 1775. The Alpha Chapter of South Dakota was established in 1927 and remains the only chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at any of South Dakota's public and private universities and colleges.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>