76 participate in annual amateur tourney at Bluffs

76 participate in annual amateur tourney at Bluffs Last Saturday, June 17 The Bluffs' annual amateur tournament entertained 76 participants from nearby towns.

The weather was ideal for golf � temperatures in the 70s with slight breezes. Four flights were used for the competition, with the championship flight

comprised of 35 golfers.

All flights played 18 holes and the low 16 scores and ties in the championship flight played the back nine to complete a 27-hole competition.

Results were:

First flight

First, Brent Weitzel 75; second, Larry Rohrer (V) 76; third, Don Scheidel (V) 77*, fourth, Randy Ballard 77.

Second flight

First, Mike Bauer 85*; second, Kevin Johnson 85; third, Ed Wahl 86*; fourth, Mike McConnell 86.

Third flight

First, Tom VanMaanen (V) 94*; second, Mike Kruse (V) 94; third, Al Skotvold 95*; fourth, Pat Amundson (V) 95.

In the championship flight there were 11 places awarded � six to Sioux City golfers and four Vermillion entrants, plus one Sioux Falls winner.

Champion � Bill Bailey (Dakota Dunes) 111; second, Chris Lane (V) 113; fifth, Jon Dimmick (V) 116*; sixth, Brett Hogen (V) 116; 10th, Bill Willroth Jr. (V) 118.

(* indicates golfer who won handicap hole playoff).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>