Awards given for annual 4-H Special Foods Contest

Awards given for annual 4-H Special Foods Contest Nine local members participated in the Clay County 4-H Special Foods Contest held Friday, June 16 at the Vermillion High School.

Each participant had 1 1/2 hours to prepare a dish of their choice, coordinate a table setting, and meal menu. In addition, participants were tested on their knowledge of nutrition.

Beginner division purple ribbon winners were: Andy Peterson � They're Green; and Alex Peterson � Shake.

4-H members receiving purple in the Junior division were: Laura Aga � Orange Oatmeal Muffins; Emily Miller � Strawberry Orange Muffins; Kelsey Peterson � Manacotti; and Ariel Begley � Frog Eye Salad.

Senior division purple ribbon winners were: Theresa Ring � Chicken Paprikash; and Dean Miller � Heart Healthy Apricot Muffins.

Purple ribbon winners are now eligible to advance to state competition at the 2000 South Dakota State Fair in Huron July 31 and Aug. 1.

Arlis Hentges of Humboldt and LaDawn Remington of Yankton served as judges of this Youth in Action event.

Copies of the participants' recipes are available upon request at the Clay County Extension Office.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>