Clubs Catholic Daughters of the Americas

St. Agnes Court #687, Catholic Daughters of the Americas, convened at the Father Wolf Auditorium, May 20, for its annual Mary's Day prayer service and awards breakfast. Mary Merrigan presided at the prayer service in the St. Agnes Catholic Church, followed by a breakfast served by Chairman Mickey Russell and her committee.

Sharon Weber, scholarship chairman, introduced the scholarship winner, Patricia Crowley, daughter of Mark and Kathy Crowley. Patricia will attend The University of South Dakota and pursue a degree in elementary education. Mary Geffre Johnson, education chairman, announced and presented awards to the winners, namely Ariel Hofman, first place in the poetry contest with Ariel Begley placing third. Broc Gauer and Hannah Gerth received honorable mention. Other winners include: Poster � Emily Houska, second place; art � McKinsey Weydert, first place, Emily Houska, second place, Cecily Engelhart, second place; Ariel Hofman, third place, Alicia McFarland, third place and Elizabeth Hoffman and Ariel Begley, honorable mention.

In the adult division for poetry, Maria Heimstra placed first and Sylvia Lynch received second. Ariel Hofman placed second in the state poetry contest.

Kay Bjorkman announced that Jan Chapman is Catholic Daughter of the Year. Leota Conroy conducted the business meeting.

Mary Johnson will represent the court as a delegate to the National Convention in Bismark, ND July 16-21. The court approved carpeting for the St. Agnes Catholic School. Prayers were offered for deceased member Betty Jean GoBell.

The court is planning a bus trip to the Shrine of Fatima, Alexandria, on June 24. Members and friends are invited to attend.

Senior Citizens Center

Eighteen bridge players were at the Senior Citizens Center Wednesday, May 24. Prizes went to: Shirley Riehle, high; Barb Kronaizl, second; Adeline Isaacson, third; Marie Parke blind bogie and Marlys Miller, low.

Serving lunch was Maxine Millette, Julia Cleland, Dorothy Marcotte and Phyllis Prusa.

Monday, May 22 (a week earlier than usual because of Memorial weekend) the end of the month card players included seven pitch, 12 pinochle and 12 bridge players.

Bridge prizes went to Lois Erickson, high and Barb Kronaizl.

Refreshments were furnished by Folmer and Lola Christensen.

Door prize drawing went to Robin Eisenmenger. Other names drawn were Maurice Erickson, Leona Kruger, Doris Olson and Evelyn Riehle.

Vermillion Rotary Club

Dr. Royce Engstrom, USD's dean of research and graduate school, explained the University's participation in the Next Generation Internet Initiative, or "Internet2," to members of the Rotary Club at their weekly meeting Tuesday at the Silver Dollar.

The high cost of Internet2 readiness was resolved through a National Science Foundation grant to six area states, including South Dakota, to collaborate through what is called the "Great Plains Network." Similarly, South Dakota and North Dakota have cooperated through "DakotaLink" so both states can gain access to the Internet2 network.

Internet2 makes available new applications, including video-conferencing, sharing expensive instrumentation, and virtual reality. USD is currently among 160 colleges and universities who are capable of using these applications on the new infrastructure, which features a high bandwidth making possible greatly increased transmission of information.

On a practical level, Dr. Barry Vickrey, dean of the USD School of Law, was asked by Engstrom to explain how the law school uses Internet2 to teach patent law, a very specialized area of instruction where few law schools have staff expertise. The law school utilizes the services of a patent attorney in Fargo, ND, who goes to a studio in that city and teaches South Dakota law students through video-conferencing.

Rotarians are asked to contribute saleable items to the club's "Garage Sale" in conjunction with Vermillion's Crazy Days on Saturday, June 17.

Rotary guests this week included Brook McBride and John Paulson.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>