VACC hosts annual golf outing at Bluffs

VACC hosts annual golf outing at Bluffs Using a golf theme as a fund raiser, the Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce hosted 144 participants in a social atmosphere which included a hole-in-one shootout, an 18-hole four-person scramble tournament and a prime rib dinner all conducted at The Bluffs golf course on Monday, Aug. 14.

The hole-in-one shootout preliminaries involved 24 golfers going for closest to the pin from about 120 yards on fairway #1, where the closest to the pin determined the five finalists. The finals were played from 150 yards on hole #5.

Results of the shootout were: Gary Prosser, first; Tim Christopherson, second; third, Bill Willroth Jr.; Dwight Iverson, fourth; and fifth, Harland Durkin.

A shotgun start at 2 p.m. had 36 teams of four pursuing a spot near the top of the two flights in the scramble tournament. Each team was sponsored by a local business whose entry fee was a part of their contribution in support of Vermillion Chamber activities.

When the last group completed their round at 8:30 p.m., the winners were:

First flight

First place � Eye Care Eye Wear team (Kevin Brown, Rob Tuttle, Bob Bowker and Mick McGinty), 58; second place � Dallas Jewelry team (Tim and Nancy Christopherson, Jon Dimmick and Adam Chandler), 59.

Second flight

First place � Taco Johns team (Kelly Hennessey and Jim Hennessey, Bill Saunders and Pat Walz), 69; second place � Herren Schempp team (Shorty and Judy Hanson, Kevin Bliss and Steve Stockland), 69. (Handicap hole tiebreak).

After a delicious dinner, the award presentations were made and included the pinprizes which were sponsored on each of the 18 holes by individuals or companies and results listed below.

Hole winners

#1 � Don Scheidel.

#2 � Sheila Prosser, Jason Even.

#3 � Nancy Christopherson, Trevor Helmer.

#4 � Mike Kruse.

#5 � Mary Ellen Jensen, Rob Tuttle.

#6 � Sammelson Construction.

#7 � Mary Ellen Jensen, Jon Dimmick.

#8 � Karine Amundson, Tim Christopherson.

#9 � Creighton Thurman (longest putt), Ryan Dean (closest second shot).

#10 � Kari Jensen, Cliff Deverell.

#11 � Ann Stewart.

#12 � Jon Dimmick (closest to pin).

#13 � Kari Jensen, Kevin Brown.

#14 � Kurt Kuiper.

#15 � None.

#16 � Judy Hanson, Bill Willroth Jr.

#17 � Chad Lavin.

#18 � Julia Chaney, Rob Tuttle.

Hole sponsors were Silver Dollar Restaurant, Texas Bar-B-Que, Sioux Valley Hospital, The Index, Brunick Furniture, Century 21 Real Estate, Norwest Bank/Wells Fargo, Recuerdo's, Casey's, Jones' Food/Ace Hardware, First National Bank, First Dakota National Bank, Chaney CorInsurance, Prosser Dentistry, Clay-Union Electric, Hy-Vee, USD Foundation, Polaris and Houska Dental.

Coordinating committee members for the Chamber golf day event were Jere Chapman, Bill Willroth Jr., Jenny French, Mike Chaney and Jim Hocket.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>