Clay County Old Settlers gather September 17 in Vermillion

Clay County Old Settlers gather September 17 in Vermillion The Clay County Old Settlers' Association met Sunday, Sept. 17, at the Vermillion Senior Citizens Center.

This was the 103rd reunion of the oldest continuous organization in Clay County.

Betty Jensen, president, asked Pastor Judy Johnson of Trinity Lutheran Church for the invocation before the dinner prepared by Delores Gregg and her helpers.

Seventy-three guests were registered by Leone Christopherson, Roberta Bensen and Rosalie Hubert. Reservations were paid to Jean Mockler and Arlis Johnson.

President Betty led a business meeting with the secretary's report by Arlis Johnson in the absence of Linda Sorensen and the treasurer's report by Jean Mockler. Both reports were accepted as read.

The slate of officers for the year 2001 will be: president, Betty Jensen; vice-president, DonaDee Peterson; secretary, Linda Sorensen; and treasurer, Jean Mockler.

Awards were presented to the following: oldest man present and man living longest in Clay County, Herbert Christopherson, 90 years; oldest woman present and woman living longest in Clay County, Mabell Jorgenson, 104 years and 103 years in the county; couple married the longest, Sid and Reidella Engman, 61 years; couple married most recently, Amos and LaVonne Bensen, six years; and youngest person present, Courtney Johnson, daughter of Craig and Chris Johnson, 5-years-old.

Couples married more than 50 years were: Norman and Betty Jensen, 51 years; Marvin and Lorraine Swee, 51 years; Don and Roberta Bensen, 52 years; Jack and Glennis Stewart, 53 years; Berwyn and Mildred Svoboda, 53 years; Laurence and Rosalie Hubert, 55 years; Cliff and Helen Manley, 58 years; Merle and Eleanor Offerdahl, 59 years; Bill and Marge Rasmussen, 59 years; Don and Doris Mitchell, 60 years; Howard and Margaret Connors, 60 years; and Sid and Reidella Engman, 61 years.

Door prize winners were: women, Glennis Stewart and Roberta Bensen; men, Herb Christopherson and Laurence Hubert.

The meeting concluded with picture taking of the award winners. Plans were announced for the next meeting on Sept. 16, 2001.

For the program, Amanda Aga sang several solos accompanied by her mother, Becky (Mrs. Lars) Aga. Amanda is a sophomore at Vermillion High School and has participated in many musical activities.

Photograph pictures of the award winners were taken by Don Bensen.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>