Hutton nominated for Spirit of Dakota Award

Hutton nominated for Spirit of Dakota Award Sixteen South Dakota women have been nominated to receive the Siprit of Dakota Award. The award will be presented to the winner, Saturday night, Oct. 7, in Huron.

The Spirit of South Dakota Award Society was created in 1987 to recognize the contributions of South Dakota women to their neighbors, community, and state. The recipient of this award will also receive $1,000 to be used in a community project of her choice. In addition, this year, a $1,000 scholarship will again be awarded to a South Dakota high school senior who will be attending a South Dakota institution of higher learning.

If the recipient of the scholarship elects to attend Huron University, an additional $1,000 will be awarded to the recipient for each of the four years it takes to earn a bachelor's degree.

Locally nominated is Chris Hutton, Vermillion. Hutton "embodies the ideals" of "integrity" and "personal responsibility." She is a professor at The University of South Dakota School of Law where she has taught since 1984. She received an L.L.M. from Harvard, a J.D. from Washburn University School of Law, and an A.B. from St. Joseph's University. Hutton participates in the South Dakota judges' training, is chair of the State Bar Committee for the Active Participation of Women in the Bar, serves as the faculty advisor to Women in Law and is a board member for the Dakota Plains Legal Services. She prepares the South Dakota Criminal Law and Procedure Review annually and has written in areas of habeas corpus, evidence and the death penalty. She touches lives not only through the knowledge she imparts, but also through expressions of compassion and strength. She has helped students and their families with personal tragedies and many say they would not have been successful had she not made the difference in their lives.

Banquet reservations may be made through the Huron Chamber of Commerce, Huron, South Dakota. (605) 352-8775. Deadline is Oct. 3.

The other nominees are: Carole Athow, Spearfish; Marie "Molly" Birks, Huron; Nancy Jo Eckstrom, Philip; Janice Farrar, Huron; Arlein Fransen, Wessington Springs; Naomi Gilkerson, Brookings; Ann Haber Stanton, Rapid City; Ardyce Haberger Samp, Flandreau; Sherry Kurtz Anderson, Sioux Falls; Darlene Neuharth, Eureka; Eileen Rolon, Sioux Falls; Donna Schipke, Newell; Ruth Sievert, Huron; Georgia Smith, Aberdeen and Eudora Zellers, Flandreau.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>