Clubs Vermillion Rotary Club

Democrat party legislative candidates from District 17 were guests of Rotarians Tuesday noon at the Silver Dollar. Joe Reedy, incumbent state senator, and Maxine Johnson and B.J. Nesselhuf, candidates for state representative, made brief presentations and then participated in a question-and-answer format. All three are residents of Vermillion.

Low funding for education and the troubled state of the South Dakota's juvenile corrections system were major issues discussed. As with their Republican counterparts two weeks ago, the three Democrats also responded to a question on how they would replace any budget dollars lost if the state's video lottery system were abolished in the Nov. 7 election. Nesselhuf made it clear that he would not support the "easy way out" alternative, which would be to increase the current South Dakota sales tax.

Johnson said that if elected she would seek the restoration of some state funding for the W.H. Over Museum. Aid from Pierre for several former "state" museums, including the Over facility, was dropped five years ago.

Reedy stated that the most productive legislative sessions he has experienced in 10 years were during the late George S. Mickelson's terms, when the party strength in Pierre was more nearly equal. It was again time, he suggested, to check the republican majority's lopsided strength and elect more legislators from his party.

Other Rotary guests included Eva Graverson, the club's foreign exchange student from Denmark; Allen Johnson; and the four senior students representing Vermillion High School this week: Adam Brooks, Pat Brooks, Laura Brunick and Katie Carlson.

Beta Zeta Chapter ESA

Beta Zeta Chapter ESA met Oct. 3 with Ileen Weisser and Paula Allstot as hostess and co-hostess. Several fund-raising events were planned, with the proceeds to be donated to St. Jude Children's Hospital. The group served lunch at Eleanor Fabricu's auction sale on Sept. 9 and Helen Burton's auction on Oct. 21. The Beta Zetas will provide the salads and dessert for the senior citizens fund raiser Oct. 26.

Several members attended the fall council meeting in Elk Point on Oct. 7.

Clay County Democrats

The monthly meeting of the Clay County Democrats was held at noon Oct. 11 at the Prairie Restaurant. Allen Johnson, co-chair, called the meeting to order. Plans for the Dakota Day weekend were discussed. On Friday evening, Oct. 13, members were invited to gather at the Democrat party headquarters to watch the Hohn/Thune debate. Light refreshments were to be served. After the debate, Curt Hohn was invited to come down to headquarters and visit with those present.

On Dakota Day, the Young Democrats and the local legislative candidates, as well as Curt Hohn and Arnie Laubauch, were scheduled to walk in the parade and then all were invited to the headquarters for a weiner boil and other refreshments. Local legislative candidates also planned to participate in Chili Blues at the Vermillion Art Center. Joe Reedy, B.J. Nesselhuf and Maxine Johnson spoke briefly about their campaigns and thanked the group for their support. The drawing for an antique maple table was held. Chances had been sold at the Clay County Fair, the Turner County Fair, the annual rummage sale and at several meetings. The winner was Charis Fouts of Vermillion. The table had been donated by Allen and Maxine Johnson.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for Nov. 8 at noon at the Prairie Restaurant.

Senior Citizens Center

Forty-three card players (13 pitch, six pinochle and 24 bridge) enjoyed the lovely fall weather Wednesday, Oct. 18 at the regular Wednesday card party at the Senior Citizens Center.

Bridge prizes went to Howard Melstad, high; Adeline Isaacson, second; Virginia Stedronsky, third; Lois Erickson, fourth; Phyllis Chrisol, blind bogie and Margaret Waltner, low.

Servers were Peg and Fran Mollet, Leone Christopherson and Marge Rasmussen.

Come join us every Wednesday at 1 p.m.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>