Dakota Hospital board elects new officers at annual meeting Sept. 26

Dakota Hospital board elects new officers at annual meeting Sept. 26 Dakota Hospital Association and Foundation held its annual meeting on Sept. 26, following the annual ice cream social at the Sioux Valley Vermillion Medical Campus.

Over 300 people attended the ice cream social, taking part in a variety of fun activities including games, bake walk, and a delicious picnic supper. An ice carving of the familiar Sioux Valley heart and chevron was done by Dennis Kingsbury. Over $500 was raised from free will offerings for the activity programs of the Sioux Valley Vermillion Care Center and Campus.

The Dakota Hospital Association and Foundation Board meeting included the election of several board members including Dr. Barbara Yutrzenka, USD professor, for a first term and Wayne Heckathorn, Elk Point farmer, for a second term. Dr. Ray Lynn, retired professor from the USD School of Medicine, was honored for his two terms on the board and other leadership, including serving as president of the board, during the last 11 years.

Fern Kaufman, president of the association, delivered her report and overview of the activities and events for the last year noting the arrival of new physicians, completion of all facility improvements and the prospect to reach out and serve a larger community. John Paulson, CEO, reported on new programs, and programs under further development like women's health and obstetrics, pediatrics, sports medicine, specialty outreach, cardiac care, surgical services and wellness and health promotion.

He also described the Sioux Valley Vermillion Medical Campus' ongoing emphasis on service excellence, and the ability to provide more services as the medical staff and the hospital service area are growing.

Valerie Osterberg, CFO, provided the financial report. A report was also presented about expanding the role of the Dakota Hospital Association and Foundation's work in managing charitable gifts for health care developments in the community consistent with its charter. Materials on charitable contributions to share with the association membership and further strategic planning efforts and development of a "Health Services Development Council" were endorsed.

Following the Dakota Hospital Association and Foundation meeting, the board held an election for its officers who are Fern Kaufman, president; Gene Lynn, vice president; and Byron Bymers, secretary-treasurer.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>