Hutton nominated for spirit of Dakota award

Hutton nominated for spirit of Dakota award The 13th annual Spirit of Dakota Awards banquet was held on Saturday, Oct. 7 at the Crossroads Convention Center in Huron.

Sixteen South Dakota women were honored for their accomplishments of promoting social, civic, cultural and educational advancement of others and serving as role models in their communities.

The honored nominees were:

Sherry Kurtz Anderson of Sioux Falls, Carol Athow of Spearfish, Marie "Molly" Birks of Huron, Nancy Jo Eckstrum of Philip, Janice Farrar of Huron, Arlein Fransen of Wessington Springs, Naomi Gilkerson of Brookings, Chris Hutton of Vermillion, Darlene B. Neuharth of Eureka, Eileen Rolon of Sioux Falls, Ardyce Haberger Samp of Flandreau, Donna Schipke of Newell, Ruth Sievert of Huron, Georgia Smith of Aberdeen, Ann Haber Stanton of Rapid City and Eudora Zeller of Flandreau.

This year the Spirit of Dakota Award recipient was Donna Shipke of Newell. Attending the banquet with Newel were her five daughters, Sharon, Kandee, Denise, Susan and Sally.

Also recognized was Danielle Buechler, a senior from Centerville High School who was awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the Spirit of Dakota Award Society.

Huron University will present Buechler with an additional $4,500 per year if she attends the Huron institution.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>