Writers invited to enter VLP short story contest

Writers invited to enter VLP short story contest The Vermillion Literary Project is sponsoring its fourth annual short story contest.

The first-place winner will automatically be published in the 2001 VLP literary magazine and receive $100. The second-place winner will also be published in the 2001 magazine. Everyone is welcome to participate.

The contest will be held in the McKusick Technology Center (Arts and Sciences building, west of the tennis courts, on The University of South Dakota campus), in room #101, from 12 to 3 p.m., on Saturday, Oct. 28. Contestants should arrive no later than 11:45 a.m.

Participants must write the story in the designated room within three hours, at the specified time and date. In addition, a certain theme, image, or idea (which will not be announced until the contest begins) must figure prominently in the story. Computers (both PC and Mac) will be available for composing.

A panel of judges consisting of USD faculty and students, will read the stories and select the winners. The first- and second-place winners will be announced on Project Radio (KAOR, 91.1 FM), the Vermillion Literary Project's campus radio show.

Current USD students, faculty, and staff who pre-register by noon on Oct. 27 can participate for free (e-mail Barb at blbaisde@usd.edu or call 605-677-5229). Pre-registration cost for other participants is $10. On the day of the contest, registration is $12.

All non-USD participants must drop off a check for the correct amount made out to the Vermillion Literary Project, or mail it at least two days before the deadline to: The Vermillion Literary Project, Dakota #226, University of South Dakota, 414 E. Clark Street, Vermillion, SD 57069-2390.

Registration fees cannot be refunded.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>