USD Theatre is well represented at American College Theatre Festival

USD Theatre is well represented at American College Theatre Festival The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival, Region V was held Jan. 16-21, at Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, KS.

Approximately 1,200 students of theatre from an eight state region competed for awards and scholarships in acting, playwriting, design, and theatre criticism. Several students from The University of South Dakota's

Department of Theatre participated as well.

Jonathan Lee, a graduate student in the MFA directing program, had his play, Mulligan, chosen to be staged at the festival. Only eight plays out of 108 submissions were selected for performance. Lee's play, which received two performances, was voted the "most

popular" play in the one-act competition, and he was presented with the "Al Gore" award, a $100 gift certificate to Border's Bookstores.

The University of South Dakota was well represented in the Irene Ryan acting competition by theatre majors Cassie Walters, Vale, and her acting partner, Samuel Williams, Yankton, who advanced out of the initial pool of 285 performers into the semi-final round of 34 contestants. Other USD students participating in the Irene Ryan Acting Competition included Vanessa ShortBull and her partner Brian Adams, Tom Simmons with his partner Daniel Miller, Joseph Williams and his partner Cameron Ulrich, and Patrick Pope with his partner Jonathan Lee.

Competing in the National Critics Institute was William Myers, a first year student in the graduate directing program. Myers was required to write reviews of three of the six productions that performed at the festival. Robert Trussel, entertainment editor for the Kansas City Star, will evaluate the student-written reviews. As of this writing that competition is not complete.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>