Vermillion girls’ soccer team earns national award

Vermillion girls' soccer team earns national award The 1999-2000 Vermillion Tanagers girls' soccer team has been recognized by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America with its prestigious High School Team Academic Award. The award was presented to 135 girls' high school teams at the NSCAA Annual Convention last week in Indianapolis, IN.

The Tanagers earned the award by posting a cumulative team grade point average of 3.64. Members of the team who earned the award were seniors Kim Hoffman, Courtney Nelson and Hilary Pederson. Juniors on the team included Lana Johnson, Katy Carlson, Tressa Olson, Kelly Peterson, Natasha Peton, Shawna Baron and Amy Petekavich.

Sophomore members of the team were Kayla Larson, Nicole Pedersen, Mary Nelson and Maria Iles. Freshmen players were Brittany Sand, Carly Bernard, Mandy Winckler, Tara Job, Megan Griffith and Michelle Rasmussen.

The Tanagers were nominated for the award by Coach Jeff Pederson, who is a member of the NSCAA.

The NSCAA, founded in 1941, is the largest single-sport coaching association in the world with more than 15,000 members.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>