USD’s indoor track teams break three records at NCC championships

USD's indoor track teams break three records at NCC championships Ryan Finley and Sara Deckert had record-breaking performances to highlight a superb effort by South Dakota men's and women's track and field squads at the North Central Conference Track and Field Championships at the DakotaDome on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23-24.

Overall, eight records were set at the NCC championships.

North Dakota State men's and women's team defended their team titles at the NCC championships. The North Dakota State men rolled up a record 223.5 points to edge the South Dakota men, who had a team-record 217 points. South Dakota State was third with 77.5 points.

NDSU's women's team rolled up 192.5 points to win the women's team title. Nebraska-Omaha was second with 132.5 points while South Dakota had 129 points.

Finley set a record in the 200-meter dash, winning the event in 21.42. Finley's performance broke the DakotaDome (21.43) and NCC record (21.53) held by Lionel McPhaull of South Dakota in 1997. Finley also captured the 400-meter title in 48.01.

Deckert set records in both the 200-meter and 400-meter events. Deckert, who won her third straight NCC title in the 200 meters, had a 24.41 clocking to break the DakotaDome mark of 24.61 of Angie Henry (unattached) in 1998. With a 55.03 clocking in the 400-meter dash, Deckert broke the NCC record of Tamara Widley-Brudy of NDSU, who had a 55.37 in 1999. Deckert also captured second place in the 55-meter dash (7.16).

The Coyotes' Sandy Pelkofer broke the NCC meet record in the pole vault, going 12'0" to capture the title. She broke the record that she and Jodi Tarasewicz, St. Cloud State, set in 2000 (11'3").

Tonya Kneifl captured an NCC title in the high jump, 5'07.25". She was also fourth in the long jump (18'09") and the 55-meter low hurdles (8.32). Brianne Vette was second in the pentathlon with 3,232 points while Sarah Hoffman was third in the pentathlon with 321 points. Patricia Goertz was third in the 800-meter run (2:16.62) and Aimee Dunlop was fourth in the 1,000 meter run (3:02.94). Sarah Menghini was third in the 55-meter dash.

Titlists for the men's team included Adam Lindahl, 3000-meter run (8:4536), Jason Probasco, 5000-meter run (15:03.30) and the Coyotes' 4×400 meter relay team (3:17.52).

Noah Deyo finished second in the 5000-meter run (15:07.75) while Paul Brozik was second in the long jump (23'03.25"), third in the high jump (6'07") and third in the pentathlon with 3,491 points. Dean Gillen was third in the weight throw (56'01.25") and John Kehoe was third in the 800-meter run (1:53.14).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>