VHS debate team has great showing at state tournament

VHS debate team has great showing at state tournament The Vermillion debate team wrapped up a remarkable season with a great showing at the state tournament.

Vermillion closed out the final round of policy debate with the team of Elizabeth Slagle and Justine Reimnitz taking home the state championship and the team of Jon Hoadley and Varsha Ramakrishnan taking the runner-up trophy.

Darryl Neufeld won the state championship in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Hoadley won the state championship and Taiana Hayes finished fifth in foreign extemporaneous speaking.

Ramakrishnan won second place in domestic extemporaneous speaking. Matt Rognstad received first place and Reimnitz won second place in oratory.

"I am very proud of the team's showing," said Coach Peggy Dimock. "It is nice to have the state championship back."

Last year the team took runner up in both Lincoln-Douglas and policy debate. In 1999, Vermillion closed out Lincoln-Douglas debate winning both first and second place, and in 1998, Vermillion won policy debate and was runner-up in Lincoln-Douglas debate.

Throughout the season, Vermillion received first place in sweepstakes in every tournament except the Fiesta Bowl, in which they received second place behind Fargo Shanley.

"The season was incredible. We put in a lot of work and it really paid off," said Assistant Coach Stacy Fuchs.

The 2000-2001 debate team consisted of seniors Matt Rognstad, Stacy Miskimins, Neufeld, Sarah Mollet, Chris Yutrzenka, Christina Wells, Rhiannon Chandler; juniors Hoadley, Slagle, Deepti Naik, Paul Quivillon, Ben McBride, Dan Ring, Eric Dehner, Nicole Pederson, Jeanette Nygaard; sophomores Britt Fremstad, Ramakrishnan, Anish Patel, Jenna Gilkyson, Kayla Nelson, Jenny Bremmer; and freshmen Jessica Leffers, Ellen Kennedy, Hayes, Paul Abourezk and Kat Redlin.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>