Clay RWS holds meeting

Clay RWS holds meeting The Clay Rural Water System held its 22nd annual meeting March 17 at the St. Agnes School Auditorium in Vermillion.

Members heard reports from officers and staff and reviewed the system's financial and operating statistics for 2000.

The results of the recent district elections were announced. Elections were held March 2 in each of the systems' three districts to elect the members of the board of directors.

The District I, John Haver of Wakonda was elected for a two-year term and Leon Fenhaus of Wakonda was elected for a three-year term. Rick Peterson of Vermillion was elected to his first term in District II. In District III, Darold Vanderham of Akron was elected to a three-year term. Vanderham had previously served on the board of directors from 1990-1999.

Bob Gregoire of Vermillion and John Bernard of Spink were recognized with Clay Rural Water System achievement awards for their years of service to the board of directors. Gregoire left the board of directors following 10 years as representative from District II while Bernard left following nine years of service in District III.

Terry Plucker of the South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems presented information on the development of a Source Water Protection Plan for Clay Rural Water. A short video presentation on water use was also presented.

Following the annual meeting the board re-organized and elected officers for the coming year. Joe Hubert of Vermillion was elected president, Glenn Nelson was elected vice-president and Ron Hesla of Wakonda, secretary-treasurer.

Clay Rural Water is a member owned, non-profit water system that provides water service to 1,500 locations in Clay, Union and portions of Yankton, Turner and Lincoln counties.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>