Students named to USD’s Phi Beta Kappa society

Students named to USD's Phi Beta Kappa society Twenty-six University of South Dakota students were recently honored for scholarly excellence and character by induction into the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa scholastic honorary society at The University of South Dakota.

The Alpha Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa of South Dakota celebrated its 75th anniversary April 2-4. As the nation's oldest academic honor society, it selects students on scholastic excellence, character, and course variety.

The majority of its members are seniors who carry a grade point average of at least 3.25 on a 4.0 scale. However, juniors may also be chosen for membership but must maintain a 3.85 grade point average and must have completed all the requirements by the end of their junior year.

Students inducted this year included Sandra Gall, Vermillion, daughter of Loren D. Rudd, Benson, AZ, and Beverly Gail Elder, St. David, AZ.

Angela Harrison of Powell, WY, received the Grace L. Beede Phi Beta Kappa Award. Beede was the first member initiated into the chapter and active within the chapter and on the national level. Nicole Buchanan received the first Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Award established by the alumni members of Alpha Chapter in honor of its 75th anniversary.

Dr. Loren Amundson of Sioux Falls was elected as an alumnus member. Elected as honorary members were Dr. Clayton Lehmann, professor of history, Dr. Karen Olmstead, chair of biology, and Dr. Timothy Heaton, professor of earth sciences.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>