Vermillion High School athletes are honored May 11

Vermillion High School athletes are honored May 11 These Vermillion High School athletes were honored at the 2001 Athletic Banquet held May 11.

Fall Sports

Girls' Tennis

Most Valuable: Maya Ristic

Most Improved: Elizabeth Slagle

Team Captain: Maya Ristic; Lindsay Iverson

Boys' Golf

Most Valuable: Brett Hogen

Most Improved: Brad Schaack; Nathan Boots

Team Captain: Brett Hogen

Boys' Cross Country

Hardest Worker: Darryl Neufeld; Eric Dehner

Most Improved: Dan Ring; Justin Manning

Most Inspirational: Darryl Neufeld

Team Captain: Darryl Neufeld

Girls' Cross Country

Hardest Worker: Natalie Tuetken; Angie Rydell

Most Improved: Katie Dehner; Emily Pier

Most Inspirational: Natalie Tuetken

Team Captain: Beth Pier; Natalie Tuetken

Girls' Basketball

Team captain: Sarah Mollet; Leslie Larson; Jaclyn Powell

Playmaker Award: Meggie Donnely

Sixth Man Award: Carey Engstrom; Tessa Tuetken

Most Improved: Ashley Bjorkman

Hustle Award: Carey Engstrom

Coaches Award: Jaclyn Powell

Girls' Soccer

Team Captain: Lana Johnson

Most Improved: Brittany Sand

Boys' Soccer

Leadership Award: Chris Yutrzenka


Most Valuable: Thad Roche

Most Improved: Ryan Pickett

Outstanding Offensive Back: Dan Tolsma

Outstanding Receiver: Tim Russell

Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Anthony Senne

Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Don O'Connor

Outstanding Defensive Back: Tyler Vacek

Outstanding Linebacker: Tim Brodersen

Outstanding Specialty Team Player: Pat Brooks

Team Captain: Anthony Senne; Brandon Benzel

Winter Sports

Boys' Basketball

Most Valuable: Bo Nelson

Most Improved: Jon Brooks

Team Captain: Bo Nelson; Jeremi Cowman; Brett Hogen

Mr. Defense: Paul Tims

Sixth Man Award: Eddie Filipovic

Assists Leader: Jeremi Cowman

Mr. Hustle: Tim Russell

Leading Rebounder: Bo Nelson

Coaches Award: Tim Brodersen; Adam Brooks


Most Versatile: Jaclyn Powell; Carey Engstrom

Defensive Player: Ashley Bjorkman; Jaclyn Powell

Most Improved: Nikki Mollet

Team Captain: Leslie Larson; Jaclyn Powell; Carey Engstrom

Most Service Points: Carey Engstrom

Most Kills: Ashley Bjorkman

Most Blocks: Leslie Larson

Most Assists: Elly Kjose

Hustle Award: Tressa Olson


Most Valuable: Ray O'Connor

Most Takedowns (45): Ray O'Connor

Most Improved: Ben Parsons; Tyler Zimmerman; Kellen Cusick

Most Escapes (33): Andy Hayner

Fastest Pin (:36): Kellen Cusick

Most Pins (28): Ray O'Connor

Most Reversals (19): Ben Parsons

Most Improved JV: Taylor Birgen

Most Wins (42): Ray O'Connor

Hardest Worker: Josh Kyte; Kyle Hubert


Most Valuable: Beth Pier

Most Improved: Sarah Christopherson

Team Leader: Tabitha Hubert

Hardest Worker: Katie Connors

Spring Sports

Girls' Track

Most Valuable: Elly Kjose

Most Improved: Brittney Gilkyson

Hardest Worker: Angela Rydell

Boys' Track

Most Valuable: Eddie Filipovic

Most Improved: Jared Burcham

Hardest Worker: Eric Dehner


Most Spirited Cheerleader: Joslyn Reimnitz; Jenni Frye

Most Spirited Squad: Joslyn Reimnitz; Amanda Breske; Chelsea King; Kalli Hammer; Rachel Wells; Jeanette Nygaard

Most Spirited JV Cheerleader: Ellen Kennedy

Boys' Tennis

Most Valuable: Jason Holoch

Most Improved: Jack Higgins

Team Captain: Chris Yutrzenka

Girls' Golf

Most Valuable: Allison Stewart

Most Improved: Brooke Nelson; Karrie Plate; Ashley Bjorkman

Team Captain: Tabitha Hubert; Allison Stewart

All-State Awards

All-State Runningback: Thad Roche

All-State Offensive Tackle: Anthony Senne

All-State Linebacker: Tim Brodersen

All-State Boys' Basketball: Bo Nelson

All-State Cross Country: Eric Dehner

All-State Boys' Golf: Brett Hogen

All-State Girls' Golf: Allison Stewart

All-State Cheerleader: Joslyn Reimnitz

All-State Gymnastics: Sarah Christopherson

All-State Soccer: Elly Kjose

All-State Soccer: Kelly Peterson

All-State Soccer: Amy Petekavitch

All-State Girls' Basketball: Ashley Bjorkman

All-State Discus: Tim Brodersen

All-State 4×100 Meter Relay: Eddie Filipovic; Dan Tolsma; Derrick Brown; Jason Madsen

All-State Swimming: Nicole Vietz, Justin Manning, Whitney Lawrence

VHS Athletic Booster Club Sportsmanship Award

Jaclyn Powell

Tim Brodersen

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>