Vermillion Light and Power awarded for outstanding safety

Vermillion Light and Power awarded for outstanding safety Vermillion Light and Power has earned the American Public Power Association's 2000 Electric Utility Safety Award for safe operating practices.

The utility earned a first place award in the category for utilities with 20,800 worker-hours of annual worker exposure with a zero incident rate. APPA President Michael Kurtz presented the award on March 27, during the association's 45th annual Engineering and Operations Workshop, held in Myrtle Beach, SC.

"Safety award winners are to be commended for their record of responsible utility operation. These awards are a symbol of hard work and dedication to high safety standards," said Kurtz, general manager of Gainesville, FL, Regional Utilities. "Efforts such as theirs demonstrate public power's commitment to efficiency and cost-effective management."

Entrants were placed in categories according to their size and judged for the most incident-free records during 2000. The incidence rate, used to judge contest entries, is based on the number of work-related reportable injuries or illnesses and worker-hours during 2000, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

"We're exceedingly proud of our safety record and honored to receive such a nationally recognized award," said Mike Hayes, electrical superintendent of Vermillion Light and Power. "Vermillion Light and Power works hard to provide dependable electricity and service without jeopardizing the safety of its employees."

The safety contest has been held annually for the last 41 years. APPA is the national organization representing more than 2,000 not-for-profit, community-owned electric utilities.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>