VFW honors Eagle Scouts

VFW honors Eagle Scouts Ernest Boyer Post 791 of the VFW and its auxiliary honored seven area Eagle Scouts.

Americanism Chairperson Wanda Hermansen awarded each a certificate and American flag.

"It takes a lot of dedication, courage and tenacity to reach this rank. These seven young men deserve recognition for this achievement," Hermansen said.

Fewer than 5 percent of all scouts ever reach the rank of Eagle Scout.

Christopher Harvey, Jona-thon Rusch, Jason Smith, and Steven Giedosh Jr., all of Vermillion, and Garrett Cox and James Brown, both of Yankton, were the only scouts to be awarded the Eagle rank in the Vermillion area in 2000.

John Heemstra, Yankton, was named honorary Scoutmaster of the Eagle Scout Class of 2000.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>