Knutson among honorees in South Dakota’s Hall of Fame

Knutson among honorees in South Dakota's Hall of Fame Thirteen South Dakotans and former South Dakotans have been selected to be inducted into the South Dakota Hall of Fame for 2001.

The inductees will be honored at Ceremonies Saturday, Sept. 8, in Pierre.

The inductees were selected for their exceptional achievements and contributions to South Dakota. They were nominated by the public and join a list of more than 450 outstanding South Dakotans already honored by the organization that is headquartered at Chamberlain.

The board of directors of the Hall of Fame made the final selection from 63 nominations this year. There are 15 categories in which the inductees can be honored.

The inductees this year will be Alexander Bombera, Plankinton, Religion; Marjorie Forney (deceased), Pierre, Arts and Humanities; Joseph Haberger, Madison, Historical/Military Affairs; Doris and Arthur Huseboe, Sioux Falls, Arts and Humanities; Keith Keltgen (deceased), Gettysburg, Business and Trades; Wayne Knutson, Vermillion, Education and Cultural Affairs; Oscar Micheauax (deceased), Gregory, Communications; Danny Olson, Sioux Falls, Athletics/Communications; Terry Redlin, Watertown, Arts and Humanities; Gerald Tracy, Watertown, Professional; John Verschoor (deceased), Mitchell, Business and Trades; and Jim Woster, Sioux Falls, Agriculture.

The induction banquet and ceremonies will be at Pierre's Ramkota Inn Sept. 8. Tickets for the banquet for friends and relatives of the inductees as well as for past inductees, and further information about the South Dakota Hall of Fame are available by calling 1-800-697-3130.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>