Patrick Gross receives 2001 USDA Honor Award

Patrick Gross receives 2001 USDA Honor Award U.S. Senators Tim Johnson and Tom Daschle congratulated South Dakotans Tim Potts of Rapid City and Patrick Gross of Vermillion for being presented the 2001 USDA Honor Award.

Potts and Gross received the 2001 USDA Honor Award June 4 in Washington, DC.

Gross is the community development program director; Potts is the rural development director. The men received the award under the group name "Oglala/USDA Partnership Team" in the field of "Enhancing the Capacity of All Rural Residents, Communities, and Businesses to Prosper."

The USDA award acknowledges the hard work and leadership both displayed toward developing the Oglala Oyate Woitancan 2008 Empowerment Zone and the SuAnne Big Crow Center � in addition to the 20 other economic development projects on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation.

"Patrick Gross and Tim Potts deserve to be commended for the exemplary service to South Dakota's residents," Johnson said. "Through their hard work and diligence, they have helped create new opportunities, jobs, and helped to improve the quality of life on the Pine Ridge Reservation. Pat and Tim epitomize what it means to be a public servant. Their guidance has helped improve conditions from building new sidewalks in Kyle to designating the Pine Ridge Reservation as an Empowerment Zone to better economic conditions for the region."

"They stand out for their unyielding commitment to increasing the number of economic opportunities for the citizens of the Pine Ridge Reservation and the state of South Dakota," Daschle said. "They have been invaluable advocates for the needs of some of South Dakota's most vulnerable communities."

Their dedication to helping those in need is an inspiration, and I am pleased that they have been recognized for their numerous accomplishments."

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>